We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
67 Kaniau Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My stay at this B & B was great...Great view from our rooms facing the ocean, spacious, clean, comfortable with mini-fridge for drinks. Friendly staff, ask Steve the owner for snorkeling spots, beaches and things to do, he knows!!! They even supply beach chairs, towels, umbrella and coolers for your perfect day at the beach! Continental breakfast on the patio every morning looking at the ocean, What a nice place to stay, by far the best bang for your buck in Lahaina!!! The almost perfect come from the fact that I usually enjoy my happy hour time by the pool after a beach day with an Ice cold beer but Garden Gate has no pool...That said, it's the only thing I can say that didn't cut it for me. Last but not least if you are some high maintenance people looking for high end luxury, this is not your place. If you are the average joe looking for a nice place to stay and have fun away from the big resorts crowd, this is definitely your spot in Lahaina!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    40
    16
    8
    8
See reviews for
14
102
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Keller, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I visited Maui for a wedding. We wanted to stay at a B & B as we felt this is more personal and more peaceful. This place was fantastic. Steve and Jeri were great hosts. The breakfast served consisted of FRESH fruits, juice, boiled eggs, fresh great tasting pastries, fruit juice coffee or tea including yoghurt with granola. For those occasions were you need to leave early all you need to do is let Steve or Jeri know and you will have a take out breakfast for your outing. Also if you need a cooler or a beach towel or chair all is available at absolutely no extra cost! And by the way the take out breakfast is as good as the breakfast you get.
The rooms are clean and Steve and Jeri make every effort to make you feel at home. Parking is free and absolutely no issue. By the way we stayed 5 nights and enjoyed every single day at this B & B. I would recommend garden gate B & B to anybody. Thanks Steve and Jeri for your great hospitality and all the advice you gave us on where we should go etc.

We would come back at any time!

Charles and Evelyne

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I visited this b&b a year ago. We were greeted by the owners who explained all we needed to know about the place, the activities and the dos and donts. They even upgraded us to the luxury room! Whenever we needed any help with arranging activities they were there for us. Definitely visit!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldenburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This bed and breakfast is a wonderful place, especially because of its owners, Steve and Jeri. These two cared for us and treated us like family. Steve gave us so many good advices and was incredibly helpful. Jeri made the best breakfasts (also to go for our day trips) and a banana bread to dream of!!
Our room (ocean view) was very cosy and the bathroom was very big and modern. Our room and all the rooms accessible to us were always super clean.
We are so happy to have spent our time on Maui here at the garden gate, and we will definitely come back on day... Thank you very much Steve and Jeri, for the great time we had with you!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed three nights and wish we could have stayed longer. Actually our entire stay in Lahaina (5 days) would have been perfect here. This b&b is in a residential neighborhood. It's central and easy to get to the main attractions in Lahaina and surrounding areas. The property is beautifully presented and the neighborhood is really quiet, which is something we are particularly fond of. When you step through the gate you will be pleasantly surprised at the size of the property and the beautiful garden/patio area. We had a wonderful warm welcome from Jeri and Steve, both are fabulous hosts. The only regret we have is that we booked a standard room which was smaller than we anticipated but that's ok because that's what we booked and we know for next that we will definitely go with an ocean view room. Our room and bathroom were both immaculately clean. I'm really fussy about clean/fresh smelling bed linens and towels and all smelled like they just go out of the dryer - lovely! The bed was really comfortable and air conditioner was running nicely. Oh boy it does get hot in Lahaina and you definitely need a/c. We felt very much at home here and hopefully we come back next year :D

Room Tip: We recommend that you go for an ocean view suite or deluxe studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed in the Ocean View room, stunning.The place is welcoming with a very nice lobby. Steve and Jeri were both very helpful, to find good restaurants and plan our trip for the day.We liked the healthy breakfast in their nice garden,the atmosphere is very friendly. The place is run very efficiently, is clean and freshly painted. It is close to Old Town Lahaina which we enjoyed.We loved restaurant Honu on Front Street, where you could have lunch right at the ocean and watch the waves.We stayed for two nights and would have liked to stay longer!

Room Tip: ocean view rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed two nights. The places is very nice, welcoming, clean... the staff is very helfpul and friendly. My room was very small but enough for a short stay. Breakfast was basic but tasty... i didn't like the don't do breakfast on sundays...(beeing a Bed & BREAKFAST) however that's something I knew the moment I booked, so it wont affect my review, just a comment for "you" to know. The other thing is that you if you don't like walking you might need a car to move in the area. Once you have (which I did) it's perfect.

The negative thing is that AC was to loud so I had to turn it off and TV is old and the remote wasn't working properly.

I highly recommend to stay here if you are looking for a nice place to stay not as expensive as the Resorts.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 67 Kaniau Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast offers elegant and affordable vacation rental accommodations in west Maui, Hawaii. Our accommodations are centrally located one mile from historic Old Lahaina Town and the Kaanapali Beach coastline. We are also located 30 minutes away from Kahului Airport. Our Maui B&B features the Lanai room with a private deck and panoramic ocean views of Molokai, Lanai, and Oahu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Gate b&b
Garden Gate Hotel Lahaina
Garden Gate Bed And Breakfast Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.