We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful b&b July 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
67 Kaniau Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Lahaina B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“beautiful b&b July 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed three nights and wish we could have stayed longer. Actually our entire stay in Lahaina (5 days) would have been perfect here. This b&b is in a residential neighborhood. It's central and easy to get to the main attractions in Lahaina and surrounding areas. The property is beautifully presented and the neighborhood is really quiet, which is something we are particularly fond of. When you step through the gate you will be pleasantly surprised at the size of the property and the beautiful garden/patio area. We had a wonderful warm welcome from Jeri and Steve, both are fabulous hosts. The only regret we have is that we booked a standard room which was smaller than we anticipated but that's ok because that's what we booked and we know for next that we will definitely go with an ocean view room. Our room and bathroom were both immaculately clean. I'm really fussy about clean/fresh smelling bed linens and towels and all smelled like they just go out of the dryer - lovely! The bed was really comfortable and air conditioner was running nicely. Oh boy it does get hot in Lahaina and you definitely need a/c. We felt very much at home here and hopefully we come back next year :D

Room Tip: We recommend that you go for an ocean view suite or deluxe studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    40
    16
    8
    8
See reviews for
14
102
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Summit, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed in the Ocean View room, stunning.The place is welcoming with a very nice lobby. Steve and Jeri were both very helpful, to find good restaurants and plan our trip for the day.We liked the healthy breakfast in their nice garden,the atmosphere is very friendly. The place is run very efficiently, is clean and freshly painted. It is close to Old Town Lahaina which we enjoyed.We loved restaurant Honu on Front Street, where you could have lunch right at the ocean and watch the waves.We stayed for two nights and would have liked to stay longer!

Room Tip: ocean view rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed two nights. The places is very nice, welcoming, clean... the staff is very helfpul and friendly. My room was very small but enough for a short stay. Breakfast was basic but tasty... i didn't like the don't do breakfast on sundays...(beeing a Bed & BREAKFAST) however that's something I knew the moment I booked, so it wont affect my review, just a comment for "you" to know. The other thing is that you if you don't like walking you might need a car to move in the area. Once you have (which I did) it's perfect.

The negative thing is that AC was to loud so I had to turn it off and TV is old and the remote wasn't working properly.

I highly recommend to stay here if you are looking for a nice place to stay not as expensive as the Resorts.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Went to relax and get away. Room was nice and clean. Full kitchen set up with plastic wrap and a full fridge. Jerry was very helpful at suggestions. Breakfast every day and if you have early plans she will make a bag breakfast if you let her know the day before.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Closter, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

we spent a week at the garden gate b&b in lahaina, maui. it was a great place to stay, convenient to lahaina and other places on maui. jeri is the ideal hostess, attentive, gracious, and helpful. the lanai room had an ocean view and a private balcony, well worth the extra cost. an added bonus for us was coco, the resident shih tzu, reminding us of our pup back home. the only criticism, a minor one, is for jeri to provide some healthier options such as whole wheat bread or plain muffins for breakfast; not that the pastries weren't delicious. if we ever return to maui we will be sure to stay at the garden gate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McFarland, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Thank you for your great hospitality and welcoming us into your home. The accommodations were perfect for our needs You made our 1st time visiting Maui very memorable. Hope to come back soon.

George and Judy Minter, Madison, WI

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beulah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Units in rear are cheaper , but the units with a view are so worth it. jeri was great. Breakfast good.we spend the last few days in the lanai room and loved it. Will stay again if we visit Maui.:) didn't want to leave very kicked back. Seen lots of whales.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 67 Kaniau Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast offers elegant and affordable vacation rental accommodations in west Maui, Hawaii. Our accommodations are centrally located one mile from historic Old Lahaina Town and the Kaanapali Beach coastline. We are also located 30 minutes away from Kahului Airport. Our Maui B&B features the Lanai room with a private deck and panoramic ocean views of Molokai, Lanai, and Oahu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Gate b&b
Garden Gate Hotel Lahaina
Garden Gate Bed And Breakfast Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.