We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place in Maui” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
67 Kaniau Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Lahaina B&B and Inns
La Plata
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very nice place in Maui”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed two nights. The places is very nice, welcoming, clean... the staff is very helfpul and friendly. My room was very small but enough for a short stay. Breakfast was basic but tasty... i didn't like the don't do breakfast on sundays...(beeing a Bed & BREAKFAST) however that's something I knew the moment I booked, so it wont affect my review, just a comment for "you" to know. The other thing is that you if you don't like walking you might need a car to move in the area. Once you have (which I did) it's perfect.

The negative thing is that AC was to loud so I had to turn it off and TV is old and the remote wasn't working properly.

I highly recommend to stay here if you are looking for a nice place to stay not as expensive as the Resorts.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    41
    17
    9
    8
See reviews for
15
106
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Spokane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Went to relax and get away. Room was nice and clean. Full kitchen set up with plastic wrap and a full fridge. Jerry was very helpful at suggestions. Breakfast every day and if you have early plans she will make a bag breakfast if you let her know the day before.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Closter, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

we spent a week at the garden gate b&b in lahaina, maui. it was a great place to stay, convenient to lahaina and other places on maui. jeri is the ideal hostess, attentive, gracious, and helpful. the lanai room had an ocean view and a private balcony, well worth the extra cost. an added bonus for us was coco, the resident shih tzu, reminding us of our pup back home. the only criticism, a minor one, is for jeri to provide some healthier options such as whole wheat bread or plain muffins for breakfast; not that the pastries weren't delicious. if we ever return to maui we will be sure to stay at the garden gate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McFarland, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Thank you for your great hospitality and welcoming us into your home. The accommodations were perfect for our needs You made our 1st time visiting Maui very memorable. Hope to come back soon.

George and Judy Minter, Madison, WI

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beulah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Units in rear are cheaper , but the units with a view are so worth it. jeri was great. Breakfast good.we spend the last few days in the lanai room and loved it. Will stay again if we visit Maui.:) didn't want to leave very kicked back. Seen lots of whales.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We booked all our days on Maui at Garden Gate. We had the Ocean View room. Jeri was the best manager/hostess. Coco was the perfect watchdog. Jeri always wanted to keep us informed of things to do and see and made reservations for numerous outings. She sent a breakfast with us when we planned an early morning venture. Continental breakfast was alway frest and good. Clean surroundings. The king size bed was very comfortable. Close to stores, restaurants and beach where we snorkeled. Hated to leave. Hope to be back very soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed in two different rooms at this B&B for the 6 days we were here. I came to run the marathon and it started in Lahaina. I enjoyed the ocean view room but the deluxe studio was AMAZING! It was like a little apartment and I loved the seating area. Speaking of amazing Jeri ( the owner) was absolutely wonderful and accommodating. She provided a plethora of great suggestions and ideas for our trip. She booked my spa treatment and our luau dinner. Every morning she supplied a tasty breakfast every morning of danishes, coffee, juice and fresh fruit. The grounds are well kept and the neighborhood is small and lovely. My boyfriend and I walked to the beach several mornings. I can not wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 67 Kaniau Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast offers elegant and affordable vacation rental accommodations in west Maui, Hawaii. Our accommodations are centrally located one mile from historic Old Lahaina Town and the Kaanapali Beach coastline. We are also located 30 minutes away from Kahului Airport. Our Maui B&B features the Lanai room with a private deck and panoramic ocean views of Molokai, Lanai, and Oahu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Gate Hotel Lahaina
Garden Gate b&b
Garden Gate Bed And Breakfast Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.