We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   67 Kaniau Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Loved our experience here the price was great and the breakfast every morning was fantastic. The manager of the B&B even packed us a great breakfast for the morning we left early to drive up to the top of Haleakala.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    44
    20
    9
    10
See reviews for
16
114
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We spent two nights at the Garden Gate. Our room was large, with a beautiful view of the ocean. We had a large, comfortable king bed. The bathroom was big and had a great shower. Everything was very clean. The continental breakfast was served on the patio, with lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, and the best-ever homemade mango bread. Great coffee too. Geri is an extremely attentive host, and was extremely helpful with suggestions for tours and day trips. This was a great introduction to Lahaina. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

I loved my stay. Jerri was spot on for her dinner recommendations. The deluxe ocean view room was great. I watched whales and sunned on my porch. I loved it! Thank you! And I also loved your little dog Coco.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Location is very convenient both to reach some great beaches as well as Lahina centre full of shops & restaurants; room was great and fully equipped; wonderful breakfast served in their ttpical garden including fresh fruit and continental serving; Geri & Steve helped us a lot in rendering memorable those days we spent on Maui island! Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We arrived on Thanksgiving day to a very gracious reception. even though we interrupted their thanksgiving dinner. Jeri and Steve were remarkable and passionate about engaging and accommodating every guest that stayed there. Steve is a wonderful guide, Jeri is a very gracious host. rooms were clean and comfortable. I recommend Garden Gate B&B as a great home base to explore the west coast of Maui. Steve & Jeri will not steer you wrong and will make you feel at home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife and I spent 6 nights at the Bed & Breakfast in the fall of 2012. The staff has a great amount of pride in their work and work hard to ensure that you enjoy your stay. The breakfasts are simple (in accordance with Hawaii regulations precluding anyone without a restaurant license from cooking a meal), but are enough to start you off on your morning.

Think of this great B&B as a launching off point for exploring the island. If your intent is to travel to Hawaii to lay on a beach, then (1) don't go to Maui and (2) stay at a resort. If your intent is to spend almost everyday doing something outside, such as surfing, golfing, exploring the National Park, hiking, etc., then this is the perfect B&B for you.

You are able to walk to a beach from the location, but the better beaches require a drive. You really need to rent a car to enjoy Maui. Don't come to Maui unless you can afford to enjoy it. Although this B&B offers a great value compared to other locations, the difference between what you would pay for a condo or resort and this B&B is largely consumed by the cost of eating out for lunch and dinner.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper deck. You can see the ocean and sun on the deck in the afternoon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights with my partner, we wished we had longer. I picked this place as we wanted something different from a big hotel on the beach and Garden Gate didn't disappoint. You are in the local neighborhood not far from central Lahaina, if you wanted to walk which we did a few times it's about 40 minutes. But we also had a car which you definitely need if holidaying in Maui. The room we had was on the ground floor and was like home from home, a big king bed, your own kitchen and dining area and our own veranda. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. But for us the highlight of our stay was Steve and Jeri, they were amazing hosts and could not have accomodated us more. Steve gave some fantastic advice of where to visit in Maui and the best places to eat and he wasn't wrong on any of them. And if you don't want to eat out they also have BBQ facilities aswell as cooking in your room. As we only had a short amount of time in Maui (big mistake) Steve's advice of where to travel was 2nd to none. Had it not been for Steve we would have missed out on one of the highlights that I've ever seen in the world, driving up to the top of Haleakala. Breathtaking. Anyway I spent alot of time beforehand researching of where to stay in Maui and I have no regrets on staying here and highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#19 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 2,936 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
#15 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 593 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maui Guest House
Maui Guest House
#1 of 13 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
0.2 mi away
House of Fountains Bed and Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 67 Kaniau Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast offers elegant and affordable vacation rental accommodations in west Maui, Hawaii. Our accommodations are centrally located one mile from historic Old Lahaina Town and the Kaanapali Beach coastline. We are also located 30 minutes away from Kahului Airport. Our Maui B&B features the Lanai room with a private deck and panoramic ocean views of Molokai, Lanai, and Oahu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Gate Hotel Lahaina
Garden Gate b&b
Garden Gate Bed And Breakfast Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.