We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
67 Kaniau Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Lahaina B&B and Inns
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Home from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights with my partner, we wished we had longer. I picked this place as we wanted something different from a big hotel on the beach and Garden Gate didn't disappoint. You are in the local neighborhood not far from central Lahaina, if you wanted to walk which we did a few times it's about 40 minutes. But we also had a car which you definitely need if holidaying in Maui. The room we had was on the ground floor and was like home from home, a big king bed, your own kitchen and dining area and our own veranda. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. But for us the highlight of our stay was Steve and Jeri, they were amazing hosts and could not have accomodated us more. Steve gave some fantastic advice of where to visit in Maui and the best places to eat and he wasn't wrong on any of them. And if you don't want to eat out they also have BBQ facilities aswell as cooking in your room. As we only had a short amount of time in Maui (big mistake) Steve's advice of where to travel was 2nd to none. Had it not been for Steve we would have missed out on one of the highlights that I've ever seen in the world, driving up to the top of Haleakala. Breathtaking. Anyway I spent alot of time beforehand researching of where to stay in Maui and I have no regrets on staying here and highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    38
    15
    8
    8
See reviews for
13
92
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Andrea and I returned to Lahaina and the Garden Gate after Aa wonderful week long stay here last year. This time we made Andrea and I returned to Lahaina and the Garden Gate for 2 weeks with Jeri, Steve and Coco, between October20-November 3. We had a wonderful week long stay here last year at about the exact same time. This year we spent 9 terrific nights in the Garden Suite, taking full advantage of the kitchen amenities and the BBQ. Our last 5 nights were in the well appointed Oceanview suite- gorgeous views of the ocean with epic sunsets every night were enjoyed to the max with a nice glass of wine on the large deck. Overall, the Garden Gate is a fantastic bed and beakfast. Steve and Jeri are warm and friendly hosts with a wealth of local knowledge about Maui and Hawaii in general. Many great conversations were had and we have learned a lot about the area, its history and culture. The place is kept beautifully groomed and rooms are always clean and tidy. The breakfast's are awesome with plenty of selection and pastries that are to die for. Andrea and I both highly recommend the Garden Gate as a place to stay while in Lahaina, away from the hustle and bustle of the large hotels. We sincerely appreciate the intimate and peaceful environment Jeri and Steve provide. Lahaina and the Garden Gate are
definitely on our radar for next year. It feels like home.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This property is located on the North end of Lahaina, in an average residential neighborhood. You will need a car, which you will probably already have anyway if you are traveling to Maui. It is a very comfortable accommodation - clean and spacious (in certain rooms), but not luxurious. To my surprise, there is no pool but it is very close to the ocean and beaches. Steve, the owner, is very knowledgeable about restaurants and other facts about the island - and is happy to share. They offer beach towels, chairs, and older snorkel equipment at no addtional cost which is a nice perk.

Room Tip: Request an Ocean View room. It will cost more than the others but still not very expensive for HI a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Thanks to our hosts Steve and Jeri, we had a very good stay at Garden Gate B&B. We are regular customers of such establishement in different part of the world and we will keep a very good souvenir of this place. We do recommand it.

Rooms (we had 2 in 2 different weeks) were clean, spacious and comfortable. The breakfast, a selection of fresh fruits and pastries, was perfect.

Steve was very generous of his time and advices for good beaches, fun activities and indication for a good part of the island.

Jeri made all the arrangements for our 2 booking, making sure we would not have to move from one room to another too often. She made reservation for us at the Luau show and she relayed all messages of different tourism organization trying to reach us while we were lost somewhere on some beaches (we had given Garden Gate phone # as a back up).

We thank them for everything.

Don't be fooled by the appearance of the neighbourhood. Garden Gate is a very niçe and quiet place to stay.

Room Tip: No pools but, hey, beach are walking distance. No fitness center but, hey, you can WALK to the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Thank you Robin for such a great time!

My friend and I took a trip to Sturgeon Bay in Sept 2012 and we decided to stay @ Garden Gate B&B because of all the great reviews we found on this site. It was our first time staying @ a B&B and it was wonderful!

Overall, the house was beautiful. Very historic and lots of character to it. The bedrooms were clean and decorated very nicely. Robin was so incredibly accommodating, we were blown away by the service she provides her guest.

In the morning, the breakfast was delicious. Robin got everyone's food just right. I'm a vegetarian, and she made sure not to give me any ham in my food. She is so friendly and warm, I would definitely go back to see her again, but next time it would be with my significant other! :)

Thank you Robin for such a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This B&B is a lovely, quiet oasis in a residential neighborhood across the main road from bustling downtown Lahaina. It was convenient to shopping and the Old Lahaina Lua (book this early). We had an ocean view King suite, and it was a beautiful, spacious, and spotless room. Our hosts were extremely helpful with advice and getting us reservations for things we wanted to do. It was a really nice touch to have the beach paraphenalia (beach chairs, towels, coolers) available for borrowing, so you can truly feel at "home" when a visitor to Maui!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Västra Götaland, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This place is highly recommended from us. It is a quite place with good distance to downown and to the beaches (only couple of minutes to drive).
It is very beautiful at the B&B aswell. The owner's is the best couple ever, they gave us all the infomation we needed and even moore! They helped us with everything we needed and you can borrow stuff like snorkel gear, cooler etc from them.
We stayed in the small room and it was good. Very clean room. Maui is such a beautiful island so you will spend all your time exploring that is why the small room was good enough for us.
If you want a good stay to live at very nice people you should definitely choose this B&B.
This was our start on our honeymoon and it started GREAT! Thank you very much Steve and Jeri for your kindness and sharing good memories. Much love from the swedish couple

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

Also Known As:
Garden Gate Hotel
Garden Gate b&b
Garden Gate Hotel Lahaina
Garden Gate
Garden Gate Bed And Breakfast Maui/Lahaina
Address: 67 Kaniau Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast offers elegant and affordable vacation rental accommodations in west Maui, Hawaii. Our accommodations are centrally located one mile from historic Old Lahaina Town and the Kaanapali Beach coastline. We are also located 30 minutes away from Kahului Airport. Our Maui B&B features the Lanai room with a private deck and panoramic ocean views of Molokai, Lanai, and Oahu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.