We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great luau!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaanapali Sunset Luau at Black Rock

Kaanapali Sunset Luau at Black Rock
2605 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
(808) 877-HULA
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$108*
and up
Ranked #97 of 165 Activities in Lahaina
Type: Performances
Attraction details
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great luau!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had a great time! The food was wonderful! The show was great! The staff was warm and friendly! We've been to bigger luaus but this one was the perfect size.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    60
    31
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Too much filler, too little show”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

When you pay 115 for adults and 47 for kids over 5 you expect a lot. What you end up with is dried out mahi mahi and chicken and a bunch of filler garbage. I knew it was going to be bad when the MC started thanking different groups, military, first responders, etc. I'm not saying we shouldn't be thankful for all those groups but a luau is not really the place for this. Heck, he went on to the point of me expecting him to dedicate the luau to "the gipper". On the bright side, the sides and pork were very good as well as the bar. With that said, do not drink the watered down pre-made cocktails like the mai tai's.

On our way back we caught the fire dancers at the end of the luau at the Westin and based on the crowd cheers and what we sat this show looked night and day better.

Bottom line, do not waste your money on this luau.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Third Luau”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We could skip the polynesian stuff , we go for the KAHLUA PIG. It's the best you can get. The dinner is amazing. Think about it, we take our family all of the time, and we've seen the Luau dancers (yawn)but we keep going back for the food. It's the best meal we had in the whole 10 days we were there. We'll do it again too!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Questionable value.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We're a couple in our early 30's with no children, and this was marginally entertaining for us. For $210, we each received a few drinks, an average buffet dinner, and a fairly slow show. The fire dancer at the end was definitely the highlight. Seating is assigned on a first-come, first-serve basis unless you pay extra for premium seating. We decided to arrive early and wait in line to get decent seats. There were 5 couples at our table, so there's the opportunity to make new friends if you wish. Overall, though, it sort of felt like being at wedding where you don't know any of the other guests. We got some good pictures and had a decent evening, but for the money and time, I would probably have had more fun at a nice restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The Food Was the Best Part”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I have been to our share of luaus and was reluctant to go to another one since they are all basically the same. But our friends happened to be vacationing in Maui at the same time as us and had never been so we decided to join them. (Luaus are more fun in a group, anyway.)

What made this luau stand out for me was the food. I was surprised at how good it was because in the past it's been cold, bland and unmemorable. The food at the Sheraton luau was very good. I loved their kahlua pork and fried rice. Very flavorful.

Also, the location is great to watch the sunset. Can't complain about an open bar too!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaanapali Sunset Luau at Black Rock also viewed

 

Been to Kaanapali Sunset Luau at Black Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaanapali Sunset Luau at Black Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.