We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Fish Tacos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cilantro Mexican Grill - CLOSED

Cilantro Mexican Grill
170 Papalaua St, Ste 104, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-2316
808-667-5444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Cilantro Mexican Grill is a super casual, order-at-the-counter eatery just off Front Street in Lahaina, Maui, that takes its Mexican food seriously. Named "Best Mexican Cuisine 2011" by The Maui News and recipient of a bunch of awards, including three Taste of Lahaina wins, Cilantro is known for healthy food packed with flavor at a great value. Stand out items include our Mother Clucker Flautas and Chipotle Citrus Rotisserie Chicken. Come see us and say, "Alohahola!"
Wildwood, Missouri, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Loved the Fish Tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We loved the Ono fish tacos but disappointed in the Ono burritos. Food is reasonably priced for Maui. Fish was freshly grilled but the rice was dried out from sitting out for hours. Order at the counter. Just off Front St so it is easy to miss.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    55
    27
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband had lunch here twice during our stay in Maui. It definitely reminds me of a nicer version of Chipotle. Fresh ingredients and yummy combination of flavors. My husband and I tried a couple of different menu items but both really enjoyed the adobo pork burritos. The servings are huge! Friendly service as well! Definitely worth a try!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is very much like Chipotles in the States- very fresh, lots to choose from. I was a little shocked when two salads, two drinks, and chips was over $30- we could have split the salad very easily.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Don't believe the negative reviews- this place is kind of like Chipotle but better and with a bigger menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I was kind of put off by one or two reviews of this place. One reviewer said it was the worst Mexican they'd ever had. But after reading the other reviews, we decided to give it a try. The format is similar to Chipotle in that you order at the front, they use no MSG or lard, they have gluten free offerings, and the staff is friendly. What makes it better than Chipotle? The menu is huge- where Chipotle only has a few ingredients, Cilantro has a full menu including delicious-looking nachos and other appetizers, sandwiches, fish tacos (which you can have in romaine lettuce to cut calories if you wish), enchiladas, burritos, flautas, etc.

Now this place isn't your typical Mexican place- it's fresher and so maybe some people are put off by this. I understand- sometimes you just want greasy cheese enchiladas at your favorite hole-in-the-wall place!

My husband got the flautas, which were perfectly fried and covered in two sauces- what looked like cream, and then a citrusy spicy sauce that was amazing. He can eat a ton of food, but this filled him up! He loved the salsa bar, though, and kept going back for more.

I got the fish taco plate with romaine leaves instead of shells. The fish was nicely prepared (not fried!) with some spicy cream sauce on top, beans, slaw, and rice on the side. It was delicious. Out of all of the fish tacos I've tried on Maui, Coconut's in Kihei is my favorite... But these are fantastic also! I would recommend to everyone to try this place- the prices are a bit high, but everything is made with fresh ingredients. This is one of those cases where you get what you pay for. We were very satisfied with the friendly service, and the quality of the food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Really busy but friendly service. Funky colours and outlook to the ocean. Food above average and reasonable pricing. Loved the sunset view while we were there.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cilantro Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cilantro Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.