We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, homemade & DELICIOUS!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cilantro Mexican Grill - CLOSED

Cilantro Mexican Grill
170 Papalaua St, Ste 104, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-2316
808-667-5444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Cilantro Mexican Grill is a super casual, order-at-the-counter eatery just off Front Street in Lahaina, Maui, that takes its Mexican food seriously. Named "Best Mexican Cuisine 2011" by The Maui News and recipient of a bunch of awards, including three Taste of Lahaina wins, Cilantro is known for healthy food packed with flavor at a great value. Stand out items include our Mother Clucker Flautas and Chipotle Citrus Rotisserie Chicken. Come see us and say, "Alohahola!"
Bozeman, Montana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fresh, homemade & DELICIOUS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This doesn't look like much but it is DELICIOUS. Our guidebook pointed this out and we are so happy we followed that suggestion. Homemade food, great seasoning. We had the Mother Clucker flautas and chicken taco plate. Absolutely everything was wonderful. I wish I had one in my neighborhood!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    55
    27
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A surprising find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

One sunny day while were in Lahaina we were looking for free parking and we stumbled upon the Old Lahaina Center. We parked outside Starbuck's. My husband and kids went to get shaved ice somewhere while I grabbed a drink. While I was waiting for them to return I walked across the carpark and found Cilantro's. Boy am I glad I did. My teenagers favourite thing to order while we were away was chicken Quesidilla's and she ordered this on three different Hawaiian islands. We all agreed that the best Mexican food we had on Maui was here! If you are looking for some fresh mexican food that won't break the budget this is definitely the place to go to. I had the chicken tacos and they were delicious too!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I like the simplicity of the food here, it's fresh and tastes like what it is. Old style Mexican that has absolutely no influence from those taco chains. It's the real deal and I like it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Pretty good mexican food in a small shopping center across from Starbucks in Lahaina. Law enforcement officers were also enjoying their food while we were there.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fresh Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great Family atmosphere. Good fresh food made to order. Fun staff. Affordable for entire families. In Lahaina Town, so easy to walk into town after lunch or dinner.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cilantro Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cilantro Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.