We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kahana Villa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kahana Villa Resort to your Saves list
Kahana Villa Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   4242 Lower Honoapiilani Highway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Welland, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I visited Mauii for 2 weeks from Oct 6-19. It was our first time in Hawaii. Our first week stay was at Kahana Villa. We exchanged for a 1 bedroom condo.

I first want to say that the unit although a bit dated, was clean, plenty roomy for the two of us and was equipped with everything we needed. The kitchen was well stocked for preparing meals which we did daily. I have to say that the bed and pillows in our condo were very, very comfortable. We had a stacker washer, dryer which was very handy. We also had an air conditioner in the living room which kept the unit comfortable except the cool air did not quite reach the bedroom at the other end of the unit. But there was a ceiling fan in the bedroom which kept us cool enough for sleeping.

The grounds were very clean and well groomed including the pool area. The pool was not very big but it was never overly busy during our stay. We had it to ourselves a couple of days that we decided to stay close by. There were tables, chairs, loungers and umbrellas surrounding the pool as well as the bbq. The bbq worked very well and was kept very clean. You could cook and eat poolside which was nice.

Our unit, 302 in building E was the furthest building from L Honoapiilani Highway which we thought was going to be a good thing but soon found that we had a highway right behind us. Luckily for me I sleep with earplugs (I am a very light sleeper) which helped to muffle the noise from the early morning traffic. This unfortunately woke my husband every morning. We also weren't fortunate enough to get a condo with a view which was a bit disappointing but I was just thrilled to be in Hawaii and I knew that the following week we were moving to another condo that was on the ocean which made it all ok. I wasn't about to let a couple of negatives ruin my vacation. If you are looking for a 5 star resort this would not be the place for you but it did the job for us. Overall we still enjoyed our stay at Kahana and if we should return to Kahana maybe we will be lucky enough to get a unit with a view.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Villa Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing Kahana Villa for your first visit to Hawaii. We are happy our condo-style accommodations were clean, comfortable, spacious and well equipped. We are glad you found our grounds and pool area clean and well maintained. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    38
    20
    6
    10
See reviews for
31
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We found our room to have plenty of space for the two of us who shared a one bedroom unit for our Honeymoon. We had an amazing view and did spend most our time awake on the patio.
The kitchen had all the necessities possible for us to make breakfast each morning which was great! The bathroom was clean and had plenty of room, but the shower was small and had an old shower head that didn't work so well.
The biggest negative to us was the uncomfortable bed and couch. Neither of us slept well on the bed or used the couch as a sitting space while were were in the room.
I was really disappointed that I left an item in the room and the next day when I called they determined the item as not found by their housekeeping staff. I was able to specifically pinpoint where I left it and still was told nothing was there. I was very discouraged by this kind of customer service but figured maybe it would come up at a later date. So I waited for a few days and called again. They again informed me that the item I knew I for sure left behind was not with them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Villa Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for celebrating your honeymoon at Kahana Villa. We are happy you found our accommodations spacious, and enjoyed the amazing view. We are truly sorry for the disappearance of your item. Please call us at 800-775-8463 to discuss in greater detail. Thank you once again for staying at Kahana Villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Just got back from a week's stay here. Got it through timeshare exchange so we didnt specifically choose this place. Place was clean, though there were some small ants in an upstairs bedroom. The computer for printing airline boarding passes was not working, had to go across the street to Sands of Kahana and use theirs for a $5 fee to get online. The upstairs bedrooms get a little warm since the A/C unit is on the first floor only. We were right across from a decent small beach (thought you have to get there by going through another resort's gate). Just to the left, up the beach is a good rocky area for snorkelling...lots of sea turtles. This place did a fine job.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Villa Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Kahana Villa. We are happy you found our accommodations clean. We appreciate your feedback and will certainly be looking further into your concerns. We hope you will choose to return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in August, it was beautiful! Right across the street from the beach. Its like having your own private beach. & it's a couple miles form Whalers Village if you are looking for more of a tourist spot. The kitchen was fully equipped and the rooms were spacious. Will stay again (:

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Villa Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at Kahana Villa. We appreciate your compliments regarding our accommodations and amenities. Thanks for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We booked this place through a timeshare exchange so we didn't have much to go on. The timeshare was advertised as beachfront & I'll say that is a stretch but close enough for what we were looking to do. I'll try to be detailed in order to help others make a very informed decision.

First, the area is pretty nice despite anything else that is written you will probably be happy here. The property is located in Kahana between the highway & beach directly across the street from Kahana Beach Resort & we learned at check-in that the two resorts share amenities so they may well be managed as one (I am not sure). It is easy to tell the property isn't the newest on the island but clearly the management cares about the upkeep & does what is necessary to maintain it.

We rented a 2 bed / 2 bath condo & was pleasantly surprised at the size & space that we actually had. This wasn't a tiny 2/2; about 900-1000 square feet I would guess. Clean tile floors at the entry, bathrooms & the full kitchen with well maintained carpets throughout the rest of the place. Fully stocked with a half dozen bathroom towels & another half dozen beach towels as well as enough dishes for a family of 8.

There were only two things that I would call inconveniences but neither were terrible. 1) In the kitchen & bathroom we found tiny sugar ants. They don't hurt anything & do not bite but we had to wash the counter tops each time we prepared food to make sure they were gone. 2) The island is pretty nice but the temperature does get a little warm so the AC was necessary. The entire place was cooled by a single window unit & in order to cool the upstairs to a comfortable temperature we had to keep the downstairs nearly ice cold. Hint: Switch the upstairs ceiling fans to pull air up instead of blowing air down to pull the cold air up the stairs!

More good stuff now. Across the street at the Kahana Beach Resort you do have access to the water & a small sandy beach. It doesn't look like much but it holds a hidden gem. Grab your snorkels & go to the submerged rocks about 75 yards down the beach. Dozens of sea turtles hang out here eating the algae off the rocks & you can literally get within inches of them without much effort. We would never have tried this but one of the staff members pointed us this direction & it was one of the highlights of our snorkeling adventures. Keep in mind though that these turtles are protected by Federal Law & you can get a $10,000 fine for touching them so look but keep your hands to yourself!

The hotel offers a site-seeing briefing at 8:30 a couple mornings each week. I would advise to go listen to the spill as it is free & is full of good information but it is a sales pitch funded by Expedia so they will try to sell you their merch. We were already planning to do many of the things they covered so getting some tips from them on where to visit, where to park, etc... was cool. It only took about 45 minutes & they bought me coffee so it was worth it. In the end we walked about one block north to Boss Frogs & purchased our excursions for close to a 40% discount. Hint: Snorkel gear is only $1.50 per day from Boss Frogs so unless you are bringing some really nice snorkel gear with you I would not carry the extra weight with you on your flight here.

Shopping: Not much within walking distance but tons within a few miles.

Snorkeling: I would recommend a visit to Honolua Bay. It is a few miles north of the hotel but worth the drive. Park on the side of the highway & walk through the beautiful canopy of trees to the waters edge. There are two steps right at the beginning that are pretty steep but after that it is a smooth walk.

I'll post more about the excursions for your reading pleasure.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom that we booked had a king bed in the master suite, 2 twin beds in the 2nd bedroom upst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Villa Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share this detailed review of your stay at Kahana Villa. We are happy you found our property beautifully-maintained and spacious. We are glad our accommodations were clean and well-equipped. Your experiences and excursions in the surrounding area will certainly be helpful to those planning a stay. We appreciate your feedback, which will help ensure a pleasant stay for all guests. We hope you will choose to return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Used our timeshare exchange for this resort. Reading the reviews tripadvisor, I knew that this wasn't a new luxury resort, and that was confirmed when we got there. This is an older resort, so doesn't have the nice lobby, lots of activities and the rooms have definately been used. They are now part of a resort group, so the resort activities were shared with the resort across the street, but you couldn't use the other resort facilities and beach chairs etc...

There is beach access across the street and either down a cut-through or 100 yards down the road to a small park. It had some great snorkeling. I saw 4 sea turtles feeding in the shallows in one day.
No restaurant on site, but the brew pub and steak house down the street, easily walkable, were both really good. Plus a convenience store and McDonalds in the shopping center down the street if you need that sort of thing.

Our 2 bedroom unit only had an AC unit in the living room, with the bedrooms upstairs. This was off when we arrived, and was really stifling the first night. We were there in late May and also had a heat spell, so was barely comfortable to sleep at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit near the lobby, it's farther from the highway and closer to the beach.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Villa Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for exchanging into Kahana Villa. We are happy you enjoyed the beach and even saw turtles feeding in the shallows. We are committed to ensuring our guests are experiencing quality and comfort while staying with us, and are sorry you weren't completely satisfied. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Location is not the best as its located quit a distance from lahaina, buses are also not the best. The cleaning staff only enters your room once a week to give u fresh towels and dish cloths, if you've ever washed dished you know one is not near enough for a week. The villa itself is above average, however there was a disgusting problem COCKROACHES, on average we killed about 2, 3 per day. I always got my bf to kill em and didn't even think of what they were till the day before we left. When I figured out what they were I was mortified hints this review. Don't plan on ever returning and highly suggest booking another location.

Room Tip: Book a different place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Villa Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for staying at Kahana Villa. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. As a timeshare resort, we offer a midweek cleaning on weeklong stays in lieu of traditional housekeeping services. Daily visits are available on request. We offer our sincerest apologies for the unwanted visitors. We can assure you their appearance is neither typical nor related to any cleanliness issues. Weather is the prime culprit. Our climate is one of the wettest on the planet and requires us to employ a regimented pest control program. The service has done an excellent job keeping bugs at bay, and we are both surprised and disappointed you were subjected to the intrusion. Thank you for sharing your comments. We appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kahana Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahana Villa Resort

Address: 4242 Lower Honoapiilani Highway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahana Villa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Kahana Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahana Villa Hotel Lahaina
Kahana Villa Resort Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kahana Villa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.