We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of the Whale Watching Tours.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawaii Ocean Project

Hawaii Ocean Project
Loading Dock Main Booth, Lahaina Harbor, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
808-667-9266
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 164 Activities in Lahaina
Type: Educational Sites, Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: we are the conservation division of Lahaina Cruise company. We promote Real Adventures, Genuine Research, Active Education.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The best of the Whale Watching Tours.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have been on a number of different whale watching tours, but this one ranks above the rest. You catch it at the Harbor in Lahaina and involves walking a plank to get on--not the standard-'load 'em from the ocean' catamaran trips. There were two very knowledgable guides on the vessel from the Ocean Project. Two things are good-1) ease of access and 2) support of the Hawaii Oceanic Project.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    18
    3
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Kids loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Great day on the water and we were lucky enough to see a competition pod (a group of males competing for a single female) and the males were putting on quite a show. Amazing staff, they showed a lot of excitement for our sake as they most likely make many journeys daily and see the same thing over and over again. I didn't personally use the restroom inboard but according to my husband it was not very clean.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Whale Watching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have been whale watching a number times in smaller zodiac type boats, so decided to try a larger boat this time. It was a great experience and though we were a bit early in the season, still saw at least 200 humpbacks out in the channel. The staff was very knowledgeable and the price was just right.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great affordable whale watch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Had a great time with the kids, but how do you really rate a whale watch when so much of the trip is dependent on nature and luck. So I think you can compare only on service, price, and onboard experience irrespective of whether you see a full breech, whale swim under the boat and emerge only few yards away, or spout so close that the mist almost hits you. All of which we were fortunate enough to experience. Earlier on the trip we went on a whale watch with Pacific Whale Foundation, and comparing the two, they were very comparable on all parameters. PWF may have been a little more kid friendly with posters, stickers, and mini kids education program. Also, there is more seating available on the PWF since much of the lower level on the HOP was reserved. We sailed in the 1130 with PWF and it got a bit hot under the sun at times. With HOP we sailed the early bird at 0730 which sucked to get up early, but might workout well early in the trip if you are still adjusting to island time. The discounted early bird will save you $, plus the morning breeze is so refreshing compared to the full sun of later sailings.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkford, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“WHALE WATCH FOR RESEARCH - GOOD TOUR”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Whale Watch Maui 808 667 6165
January, 2013. WHALES, WHALES, everywhere. This is prime season for Whale Watching as they fatten up in Alaska and then come down to Maui to fast, give birth and/or breed. We received this free whale watch tour when we checked in for the Maui Princess Dinner cruise. I believe everyone who takes the Dinner Cruise is offered to book a free whale watch. Be ready to book this when you check in for the dinner, that way you have it. We always (twice) book it for the last day in Maui as most accomodations require you be out by 11 a.m. and in our case we had an 11 p.m. flight so taking the 2:15 whale watch which was with www.hawaiioceanproject.com was the perfect way to end the trip. "They" (the powers that be) say that the best time for a whale watch is first thing in the morning but we have always taken them in the afternoon. The crew was very knowledgable and answered questions for everyone on the tour. We saw a "tonne" of whales breeching the surface that day, waving their "arms" and tails at us. There was a momma and baby that came very close to the boat. It was not the best day weatherwise as we got closer to Lanai Island we could see it was raining out there. It is hard to get really good photos as when you see them and click - they have gone back under - it is a real show tho - a video camera might be the best.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaii Ocean Project also viewed

 

Been to Hawaii Ocean Project? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawaii Ocean Project, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.