We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maui Surfer Girls Rock!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Surfer Girls

Maui Surfer Girls
800 Olowalu Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI
808-214-0606
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 165 Activities in Lahaina
Type: Water sports, Adventure
Activities: Surfing
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Maui Surfer Girls Rock!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

MSG rocks! My husband, 10 year old daughter and I took a surf lesson yesterday and it was great. After a brief orientation on land, we all took to the water and 4 out of 5 of us were up on our boards within the first or second ride. Our instructors, Kelly and Sharky, were very attentive of our daughter and the one time she took a nasty spill, were right there quickly to offer support and encouragement. The two hour time frame seemed short when we signed up but it was more than enough time to nail the basics and leave us wanting more (and with just enough energy to get us out of the water). Will be a highlight of our vacation!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rosemount, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Magical Day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a group of 10 learn how to surf with Dustin, Kelly and Sharky - 7 kids - ages from 8 to 16 and 3 Moms. What a great spring break experience - away from the crowds - with patient, knowledgeable teachers. EVERYONE got up on their first or second try following the lesson on the beach. These folks clearly love what they do, and its contagious. Mahalo Sharky, Kelly and Dustin!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I had a private lesson with Kelly and she was an amazing teacher! This was my first time surfing and she made me feel very comfortable on land and in the water. I was very nervous before the lesson even started but she got me over my fears and I stood up on my 3rd try. I can not wait to go surfing again and hope to get back to Maui, so I can get another surfing lesson from Maui Surfer Girls!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Very Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

If you are looking for a great group of people to learn how to surf from in Maui, this is the group. They know what they are doing and have great knowledge and experience. I went alone and took a private lesson from Kelly and she made me feel comfortable and eager to learn more. Kelly was personable and very encouraging. All the instructors that were there had a good time with each other and those that they were teaching. Definitely a fun group.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“There the best for a reason!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Dustin and Sharky made our surf lessons in Lahaina a wonderful experience. As my second time surfing in the Hawaiian islands I had some experience but definitely still on the beginner level. Both instructors gave excellent tips, were very accommodating when we got tired pulling our boards with their toes! Yes, you have other options of surf lessons on Maui but you SHOULDN'T choose any other company if you want a personalized, fun experience. Loved the bumper stickers and playing around with Dustin's dog Luna too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui Surfer Girls also viewed

 

Been to Maui Surfer Girls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Surfer Girls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.