We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look for the turtles” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ma'la - An Ocean Tavern

Ma'la - An Ocean Tavern
1307 Front St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1725
808-667-9394
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ma'la - An Ocean Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 238 Restaurants in Lahaina
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Kapunakea
Portland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Look for the turtles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

this is not your basic tavern. A bit spendy, but food is well worth it. Kobe beef burgers are pricey but price be damned. The beef nearly melts away in your mouth. Desserts are a plus, and the staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Expect a wait if no reservations and don't forget to look for the sea turtles. r

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    217
    102
    44
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food by the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The owners at the B&B that we stayed at recommended Mala and we were so glad that they did. Our waiter John was really helpful in creating an order that was both interesting and filling. The location is also just the best. What better way to watch the sunset!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love the food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We came for sunset and were blown away by the food and friendly service. Our favorite was the seared ahi bruschetta. The sunset was beautiful and being so close to the water was a definite plus! I would highly recommend Ma'la to anyone looking for a cosy experience and great food!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

At Ma'la you pay for what you get; a fresh excellent meal. Reservations recommended. We didn't have one, but sat at the bar. The staff was phenomenal. We didn't bring a camera and our bartender took pictures on his phone and sent them to us. That's great service. The Martini's are great, but one floored me! We have reserved to go back before the end of our stay in Maui.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Ma'la does look a little shopworn when you pull up...because it is. It may look tired, but once you get inside it is anything but. My wife and I had a wonderful time. It's on the $$$ end of the spectrum, but we both loved our dinner and the sunset was great. We sat outside and enjoyed the over-water experience. The place was bustling but somehow our impression was there is a calm out on the deck.

Our dinners were fresh, cooked perfectly and delivered exactly as ordered. We learned that waiting tables in Maui is highly competitive and can be quite lucrative which accounts for the great service we got here, and just about everywhere else we dined except at the Sheraton. We had easy parking on the street. True enough that a facelift would help and it seemed a bit cramped inside. One of the locals we asked about it wrote it off as a burger joint that is way overpriced...not even close to our most positive take. Our next visit to Maui will include a dinner at Ma'la...I'd like to try that famous burger! Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ma'la - An Ocean Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Ma'la - An Ocean Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ma'la - An Ocean Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.