We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Luau” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Lahaina Luau

Royal Lahaina Luau
2780 Kekaa Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
+1 808-661-9119
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Royal Lahaina Luau like an insider
Top Rated
$195*
and up
Maui Atlantis Submarine Adventure and Royal...
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Myths of Maui Luau The last rays of a spectacular sunset, beating drums and the call of the conch shell signal the start of Maui's most exciting and longest running Polynesian luau. You will enjoy a breathtaking celebration of traditional Hawaiian, Tahitian, Samoan and Maori dance and music as performers weave the legends of the South Pacific into a spellbinding performance you are sure to treasure for years to come.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Luau”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was our second Luau and as compared to the other one we went to several years ago, this one was much better. The food was very good for a buffet. The drinks that were included were very good quality, and they made non-alcoholic versions for the kids. They also had a keiki buffet- with foods most kids would gravitate towards. My child eats most anything- but she appreciated the mac and cheese as a side item. The performers were very good as well. Overall, a very fun night for the entire family.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    192
    121
    66
    49
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good food, good show, good liquor!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Roasted Pig was delicious, other sides were ok but nothing great. The show itself was great fun and the cast members were trying very hard and looked motivated and friendly. Definitely worth the extra 20 bucks each for better seats, it puts you right in the middle up front. Open bar was good and Mai Tai's hit the spot. The Luau was half price as part of a package on the Atlantis Submarine. Worth the bucks we paid and we'd go back.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Royal Lahaina Luau impressions...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We were looking forward to a night at the luau... well the staff and entertainers were very good. That's the good. The big let down was the meal and the setting. The buffet was disappointing. The tables were not even covered so we had only the dirty plastic surface to enjoy. The drinks were limited to a list of 7 or 8 plus 2 types of lite beer and all were served in plastic cups. If you wanted a fruit Daiquiri or Chi Chi it was an extra $15. Our group of 6 would have enjoyed a better experience at one of the pricier restaurants in Lahaina that feature live entertainment. The cost would have been about the same but you know you would have had a better experience. I can make better mac and cheese at home. The Feast at Lele is a more intimate and classier experience for the money. It is slightly more expensive but worth every penny. We were very satisfied with that experience and were able to enjoy a number of the best coconut Chi Chi's we have ever had. We also had our choice of bottled beers local to each Polynesian area covered by the show. I enjoyed one from each area. It was a sit down meal which servers brought out to your table. Needless to say they earned a good tip.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great fun!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Yes, it's a bit hokey but for fun and entertainment it's hard to beat. By far the best luau value on Maui. Food was good, not great. Lots of Aloha spirit here. Go and enjoy

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“OMG!!!!! SO Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I'll admit, after attending a few local luau's, I had very low expectations, but wanted to treat my mom to a night out.
WOW!!!!!
Although, the luau obviously is a large group of people, Royal Lahaina managed to make it intimate.
We had wonderful seats and were greeted with a cute shell necklace.
Live Band!!!!! This made such a difference and the music was fantastic!
Great MC!!!!! Like a Hawaiian Sinatra, the MC had the crowd laughing, kept the show moving and had a wonderful voice to boot!!!
The dancers- INCREDIBLE!!! The fire performance in particular was absolutely insane, especially with the full moon backdrop.
The food, surprisingly, DELICIOUS!!!
The pork was cooked traditionally in the ground and had a wonderful flavor, the chicken was tender and the mac-n cheese at the kids table was the bomb!!!
Even the free blue hawaii's and mai tais were tasty, not watered down as many of the luau's do.
We had a wonderful experience, which is what a luau should be =-)

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Lahaina Luau also viewed

 

Been to Royal Lahaina Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Lahaina Luau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.