We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and outdated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Kuleana Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kuleana Resort
Save
You added The Kuleana Resort to your Saves list
3959 Lower Honoapiilani Rd., Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Old and outdated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2007

We rented 4 units for 5 days (4 couples) and were expecting the units to be similar. Wrong some units had updated floors, kitchens and bathrooms, newer furniture etc. and the unit myself and another couple were in units 711 & 722 were old, dirty and had bugs in the kitchen.
It was a very nice location, nice grounds, no beach to speak of and I feel very overpriced for what we received. Would look in the same area again, but for something newer.
F.H. - Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

  • Liked — the grounds and pool
  • Disliked — old, outdated and dirty
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    37
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
24
79
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Utah
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2007

We just returned from a delightful stay at the Kuleana Resort. Our condo was absolutely charnimg. We stayed in #415 which is a great location, closest to the water, with no street noise. It is a non-smoking condo, which we appreciated. The view from the lanai is amazing! We enjoyed watching the sea turtles, dolphins and whales while having our morning coffee. It was very relaxing and a very comfortable condo. The lobby is undergoing a much needed remodel, which will be nice to see our next trip here. We will definitely be back.

  • Liked — Oceanfront
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2007

Our condo at the Kuleana had a beautiful oceanview & was oceanfront. Sitting on the lanai whale watching was a perfect way to end the day. Other than this, the place is roached. The walls are so paper thin, we actually heard people in other condo's peeing in the middle in the night!! The condo's are older & also extremely small. If your going to Maui on a budget & don't mind this, than the Kuleana may work for you. If not on a budget & can afford to stay elsewhere, please do!!!! My husband & I will not be returning to the Kuleana anytime soon.....

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the walls
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillcrest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2007

For anybody looking to economize in Maui - you can start right here at the beautiful Kuleana Resort and Condos. What's so special you ask? For starters, it sits oceanside and from most condos you have either a spectacular or semi-spectactular view of the ever changing ocean. The grounds are immaculately kept, and the condos are also beautifully maintained. The condos we've stayed in have been one bedroom, bath, economy (but fully stocked) kitchen and living room combined. There is a Murphy bed in the living room so the unit can sleep 4. And it's quiet. Facility offers amenities of 4 clean, clean, clean barbeques at the water's edge, a large gated pool, a helpful staff (they have people who can book activities for you). Kuleana's ocean has many many rocks which make for great snorkeling, and many many turtles feed. You can sit on your lanai, and watch the turtles. And the grounds are lush, beautiful, well tended which make them a magnet for many many types of birds. And the weekly prices are an amazing value! We've stayed here twice, and cannot imagine staying anywhere else.

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2006

We stayed in a one bedroom, oceanfront condo at the Kuleana in Feb 2006. Unit 616. It was amazing. Utterly amazing! Closest thing to heaven on earth.
One previous reviewer said, "the lobby is not much" which it isn't....but we didn't travel there to hang out in the lobby - no big deal!!!
Our room was beautiful. Tastefully appointed (tropical), clean, very bright, large wall mirrors. An end unit with extra side window that made you feel surrounded by the turquoise ocean. "Everything" we needed was there! Well stocked unit. Amazing views! Sunrise, sunset, anytime of day we would just gaze out over the ocean!
We ate most of our breakfasts, lunches and dinners on our lanai because the views were so amazing. Deck was only 20 ft away from the ocean. Even in the nicest of restaurants you'd be really hard pressed to find a table with a view like we had at the Kuleana.
The grounds are quaint and pretty. Tennis court. The pool is rather large for the size of the resort. It is HEATED too which believe it or not, was really nice! Always lots of chairs by the pool, usually only 5 - 12 people there at any given time.
The oceanfront BBQ's brought out the "chef" in all the guests. Each night introduced us to a bouquet of new acquaintences, from many parts of the world. Each tempting the other with our culinary best!! It was so cool to see the well planned platters of fish-of-the-day, fabulous shellfish, marinated gourmet meats, market fresh vegetables and juicy pineapple slices......ready to be "self-grilled" to perfection. You could chat lightly and share your daily adventures - of "Must See's or Not Recommended's" with your new grilling neighbour. Then everyone would simply disappear with their feasts, back to the privacy of their very own oceanside table......................Hawaiian PARADISE!!
Tikki torches lit the gardens and the fiery sun, setting on the ocean, exploded into gorgeous colours every night....while you delighted in your meal and sipped another cocktail!
Loved it!! Just beautiful.
If you are looking for peaceful, beautiful vacation with some self catering - this is an A+ location. We are booked again next year. Same unit! Unit 616 is privately owned, we found it on VRBO listing 43198, great owner! Feel free to tell her Cheri & Brian directed you there!

  • Liked — All of it!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, NY
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2006

This was our second trip to Maui and we made it a point to return to the Kuleana. We were in 2 nice oceanfront condo's. 403 is in an ideal spot between the lovely pool and the ocean. 711 also has a great view of the ocean, but backs up to the parking lot and has more traffic noise.

There is ready access to the water, but there is not a sand beach. On this stay we enjoyed watching the whales and turtles from the lanai, but the sea was a little rough to do any snorkeling out front.

All in all, I would give the Kuleana high marks for location and ambience. The grounds are lovely and well kept. It is only a short drive to Lahaina, sandy beaches. and the resorts of Kaanapali.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2006

Stayed in Unit 718 2/16 – 2/21. Condo was very clean, well stocked and looked like it was recently updated. Felt like a home away from home. These condos are a bit smaller than some of the others in the area but you can’t beat what you’re getting for the price. Some friends staying in a nearby hotel were very jealous of our accommodations here. By far the best part was THE VIEW! We were literally steps from the water and the sound of the waves and the scent from the plumeria trees was so relaxing. The grounds are very beautiful and well kept. We could see whales and beautiful sunsets from our lanai every day. Very quiet and romantic location. If you are used to being pampered at a resort this might not be the place for you but it was the perfect paradise for us.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kuleana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kuleana Resort

Address: 3959 Lower Honoapiilani Rd., Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kuleana Resort boasts a truly remarkable oceanfront location, on West Maui's pristine coastline, with a gorgeous panoramic view of the Pacific ocean and the nearby islands of Molokai and Lanai. We offer you a rare piece of vintage Hawaii with the convenience and comfort of today. For over 25 years, we have strived to make sure that our guests have the most unique Hawaiian vacation. The atmosphere of our resort is friendly, family-oriented, homey and fun. This rare gem sparkles with the beauty of the tropics that only years of aloha can provide ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kuleana Hotel Lahaina
The Kuleana Resort Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kuleana Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.