We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kuleana Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kuleana Resort
Save
You added The Kuleana Resort to your Saves list
3959 Lower Honoapiilani Rd., Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Yorba Linda, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Incredible location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed at this older property for a week in May 2014. The location couldn't be better. Our lanai was literally about 20 yards from the water. We enjoyed sitting out there and watching turtles and even a few straggler whales (most of them are gone this late in the year). Even though the property is older it is clean and well maintained. The staff were friendly, but their office hours were quite limited. There is no daily or even weekly maid service, but they did offer a mid-week towel exchange. They close the walk through lobby about 9PM so don't go off without your gate key or you will need to find the security board to get in to the rooms.
These places appear to be privately owned by some people and some of them seem to have full time residents. Over all it was quiet, and very pleasant!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    37
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
24
79
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My hubby and visited Maui for the first time in April this year. We booked online and found The Kuleana Resort and loved the pictures and the price too! We were booked within minutes and found Pam to be very professional and friendly and made things easy for us! We left behind four feet of snow in our back yard so we knew we were going to enjoy Maui, but we had no idea just how much! As soon as we claimed our luggage we headed off to the shuttle bus for our rental car service. We chose Alamo to rent our car from and booked it from home! There were a lot of other folks who had the same idea and therefore lots going to the shuttle bus to the Alamo lot (which is very close by) and because we'd booked from home, we didn't have to wait in the line and were pulled out! We chose our car and we hooked up our GPS (pre-programmed, of course!) and we were off to our resort! The first thing we noticed was the lovely roads (no potholes here!) and the palm trees, just swaying in the breeze and the sunshine! Paradise! We arrived at our resort after traveling a gorgeous, curving around mountain, ocean on your left, diamonds sparkeling off the blue, blue ocean! WOW! We drove along the Honoapiilani Road all the way to our resort! We arrived at The Kuleana and popped into see Pam and she was very welcoming, friendly and hospitable. We already had the code to our condo lock so we headed up and when we opened the door, we were blown away by the sight of a wall to wall glass sliding door to our lanai with blue, blue sparkeling ocean and palm trees taking up the whole view! A million dollar view!!! A very lovely encounter after two flights to get there! The loveliest part was that Hawaii is 5 hours behind our time at home so we got to live the whole afternoon over again! The condo had been made welcoming for our arrival as a lamp in the bedroom had been turned on for us (as they didn't know what time we might arrive) and the lanai sliding door had been opened to allow the ocean breezes to waft through the condo! The condo was very clean and although this one could use a bit of updating, once you see the ocean views, you do not care! Some of these condos (there are 7 buildings with two to three floors, depending on the building) are vacation rentals by the owner (which ours was), some are timeshares and some people get to live there all year long! Lucky! The bedroom was very comfortable with a great queen bed and an air conditioner although we only used the fan and the ceiling fan as we found it comfortable. The a/c fan worked to provide a soft "white noise" to cover any unfamiliar sounds that may wake us. We listened to the ocean waves at night as well with the lanai door open as we were on the third floor so we felt it was safe to do so. We always felt safe at the resort anyway. There was a self-coding safe in the bedroom closet in our condo for jewelry and passports, etc. There are lots of stores close by for anything you may require. We found that "Times" was great. A supermarket type of store with everytthing you may need including beer, wine and liquor and all the normal groceries. It's a big store! We like to pick up breakfast staples and eat brekky in our room or condo when we go away. No rushing in the morning and it adds a bit of home comfort to traveling too. The condo has a fully equipped kitchen with full sized coffee maker, toaster, stove, oven, microwave, fridge, etc. We also enjoyed the "ocean front" restaurants, which there are many! We went to the Sea House Restaurant our first night there and it is situated on the ocean front. We had lunch in the quaint town of Lahaina and again, we were sitting right beside the ocean and watching sea turtles swimming near the shore and some sunning on the beach. The food and drinks were great too! The prices are what you would expect with that view but not too expensive. The town of Lahaina is very quaint with lots of shops and their famous Banyan tree with now boasts twelve main trunks and covers over an acre. It's quite the popular place to sit and watch with lots of benches here and there. The Lahaina Harbor is right there too and we boarded a catamaran and went on a sunset cocktail cruise and spotted some whales spouting and breeching even though it was close to the end of their season in Maui. We booked for two weeks in January of 2015 on our second morning there! You cans sit on your lanai and watch the ocean waves, sea turtles, palms waving in the breeze. It's quiet, gorgeous and peaceful. You feel like you're on your own private island! We definitely recommend The Kuleana Resort. We also enjoyed The Old Lahaina Lua which is touted as being the best although there are a few to take in! We will try them all! We loved the one we did try this time around! We stayed in building 7 which is right on the ocean front, along with buildings 4 and 6. The others are situated further back. The sunsets from the lanai are breath-taking and right in yo' face!!! You could pay a fortune to a place like the Four Seasons if you want but you will not have this!

Room Tip: Bring your camera and snorkel gear can be rented here in Maui! There are natural gas barbecues on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This is our first time to Maui and we picked the Kuleana from the photos. We were very impressed with how well maintained the gardens, pool and BBQ area are. They clean the BBQ's every morning. The beach here is small, but we found that not to be much of a problem since there were not a lot of people. It was nice to sit and have the area almost to yourself, short of the very large turtles that eat and play on the rocks in front of you. We rented Unit 508 and found it to be very comfortable and clean. It was stocked well and we didn't need to get much other than our food. Only two of the stove top burners worked, but we made do. The sheets and comforter on the bed need something to be done. They were very clean and seemed brand new, but the sheets would not stay on the bed so we would wake up on the mattress wrapped in the sheets. Otherwise we were very happy and would stay here again. We brought two teenagers and they shared the futon pull out and it worked just fine for them. The sliding glass door is a little hard to open too. Leave the main door open for a nice breeze to help cool the place down. Watch out for these little gnats though. No AC in the unit. Only a few really hot nights. Beautiful view from the balcony with a variety of birds to see and whales out in the ocean. The laundry is just one unit over and wasn't a problem to pop a load of towels in.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We have stayed at the kuleana resort in the past just not this unit, we rented through vrbo and epic realty, we arrived and the first thing you notice is that the front door has obviously been broken into before ok a little disconcerting but ok what the heck. Secondly the bedroom had only one miniature light bulb working out of the four that were suppose to be working so it was as dark as a cave. I called the realty company and Kim said she was just there and all the lights were working I don't believe 4 bulbs in the bedroom and even one in the bathroom can blow out but again ok. Then when we went to sit down I was unable to locate the remote for the tv so I called Kim and she again said she was just there and the remote was on the table which it was not she agreed to send maintenance over with a remote and some bulbs, in the meantime I found the remote stuffed under the sofa bed, the maintenance guy showed up with a couple of bulbs wrong ones by the way so he said he would be back and can he look at the screen door while he was here, I told him screen door is fine but the slider was not able to be opened by my wife it took quite a bit of effort from myself a 215lb guy to make the slider move, I told maintenance guy he was not going to be able to fix that since he came on a motorcycle with not even a screwdriver in hand. So he left and did come back later with two bulbs so at least we could see in the bedroom. I also found the place quite dirty with stains on the walls, doors, even the placemats on the table were disgusting. We tried to sleep the one night but the a/c in the room sounded like a plane taking off so no a/c I tried to open the window in the bedroom but I could not get to,it since the dresser was in the way so we ended up sweltering in the bedroom. I was not able to sleep and got out of bed at 230 am to go sit in the front room. After my wife got up and she wanted to have coffee on the porch she was unable to open the slider door so I had enough we booked a room elsewhere and called epic realty to ask for at least a partial refund all that got accomplished was my wife getting very upset with Kim at epic realty who suggested I write a letter to the owner asking for my money back. I guess I will and while I am at it I will tell them about the rusted refrigerator, the stove top burners that don't fit thus they sit unlevel and the a/c that is so loud it is impossible to sleep. I will probably never go back to kuleana and for sure not to unit 706 which it's to bad for we had some fond memories from our time there a few years back in a different unit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusby, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The Kuleana Resort was our first taste of Maui living, and it was memorable. The grounds are everything you are picturing "Hawaii" to look like, so many flowers, trees, birds, gechos to see right outside your lanai. We were there during the "baby whale" season, so saw more whale "breaches" and "tail slapping" than you could imagine.
The condo is very clean, neat and comfortable. We had a second floor unit, and will be looking to book a ground floor unit on our next visit to Maui / Kuleana Resort. (Yes, we will be repeat customers at this resort). Keep in mind that these are not large condos, but fit all of your needs for a good vacation, as you will spend most of your time on the beaches, on tours, sightseeing and just sitting by the pool enjoying the sun.

Room Tip: Ocean Front rooms have the most spectacular views of Lanai and Molokai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I Love the Kuleanna Club vibe. It is laid back & relaxing, in the most beautiful setting imaginable, set on the ocean beach. The remodel and furnishings may not be over the top fancy, but they are clean, well maintained, and timeless Hawaiian.

The decks all face the ocean where Humpback whales winter and birth in between the other islands of Lanai and Molokai that are just 7 miles away in the view. You have the excitement of the whales blowing and breaching at all times of the day. The always clean barbecues bask in the red ocean sunset every evening. The boat lights at night decorate the night view. You can beach, snorkel and play tennis at the resort or you can head into old town Lahaina to the shops, restaurants, active fishing docks and history.

Room Tip: There are only a few units without an ocean view, but the beach is only 100 feet away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

If my husband would have had a chance to write a review as soon as we'd gotten to the resort it would have had ONE STAR only. His reception by the ladies at the front desk left much to be desired and once we'd walked into the condo, it's DARK space did not improve his outlook on our holiday week!
Things got much better once we saw that we were LITERALLY 30 feet from the sandy shoreline!! WOW, listening to the waves at night, seeing humpback whales breaching in the Pacific, what a sight. Then watching the palm trees swaying in the breeze, seeing the waves come onshore, watching the sun set behind the Island of Lana'i, all while we sipped our POG juice and sparkling wine out on our lanai, put everything into perspective!! AWESOME!!
The bedroom IS noisy as the louvered windows do not close totally, yet they are safe in the fact that they are bolted shut (except for the top quarter!!) The highway noises are ever present, so our solution was to sleep on the murphy bed in the kitchen!! Only noises we heard when we were awakened in the night were the gentle waves washing up on shore outside our condo. BTW, that murphy bed is comfortable!!
There is NO A/C yet the ceiling fans do a great job of keeping the place cool throughout the day and night. There are bamboo blinds on most lanais to shade the large glass doors from the afternoon sun. BONUS.
There is a full kitchen, yet in our unit (712) the stove top was only partly functional.....two burners of four worked. DO NOT have anything pressing on the dishwasher door as it will leak out the front, making the tile floor very wet AND slippery!
Having a full sized fridge is handy as you can pop down to the farmers market at the nearby shops (south of the resort, across from the beach park) to pick up fresh produce, bread and jams, or salsa and chips every Monday, Wednesday and Friday mornings.
The lanai is well equipped with 4 chairs, two ottomans and a large glass topped table. What an excellent spot to spend early mornings or later afternoons watching for whales while relaxing. Perfect spot!
The pool is large and gets crowded by mid afternoon when everyone is back to the complex after their morning sightseeing and lunches out. There are lots of poolside loungers, just remember to bring your own towels from the condo.
The laundry facility is a nice touch as there are no washer/dryers in the units. Laundry Room is open 8 am to 9 pm daily; wash 32 minutes for $1.75 and dryers are $1.25 for 30 minutes (I think!!) There is a dispenser for detergent & dryer sheets (one time use for $1), and also a change machine that takes $1, $5, $10 and $20 bills.
Overall we will stay here again as we can trade for it with our time share.

Room Tip: 700 building is nice as it's BEACHFRONT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kuleana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kuleana Resort

Address: 3959 Lower Honoapiilani Rd., Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kuleana Resort boasts a truly remarkable oceanfront location, on West Maui's pristine coastline, with a gorgeous panoramic view of the Pacific ocean and the nearby islands of Molokai and Lanai. We offer you a rare piece of vintage Hawaii with the convenience and comfort of today. For over 25 years, we have strived to make sure that our guests have the most unique Hawaiian vacation. The atmosphere of our resort is friendly, family-oriented, homey and fun. This rare gem sparkles with the beauty of the tropics that only years of aloha can provide ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kuleana Hotel Lahaina
The Kuleana Resort Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kuleana Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.