We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond paradise and so peaceful and beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ho'oilo House

Save Saved
You added Ho'oilo House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ho'oilo House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   138 Awaiku St., Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Super Summer Special
Ranked #2 of 13 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Rochester, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beyond paradise and so peaceful and beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We love the Ho'oilo House! We originally planned to stay in one of the Ka'anapali resort areas but found them all too expensive for the amount of time we wanted to stay. After researching lots of different boards and sites, we decided to book with Ho'oilo House. Honestly, I kept checking the reviews as it got closer and closer to our trip date, and I won't lie....I was worried about cockroaches! I have to agree with one of the other reviewers and say that I truly do not understand the negative tone to some of these reviews. We were prepared for the worst and got the absolute best possible experience! We stayed in the Akala Manu room from June 14-21 and it was amazing!!! We got in late so Dan and Amy left us a note on the door and we fell into that supremely comfortable bed with glee and exhaustion. The first morning, we woke up to the most amazing sounds! Birds, frogs, bees, the coi pond trickling away. It was incredible and set the tone for the rest of our visit. The room itself was great--bed super comfy, closet roomy, a little fridge, the floor and decor were gorgeous. Unlike other reviewers, we didn't mind the toilet didn't have a door--we just turned up the tv or one of us went out onto the lanai. No biggie. The outdoor shower was a little tricky--you have to play with the temperature for a bit but once you figure it out, it's cool. It does sort of get harder and softer and harder again as other people use water, but it really wasn't a bother. The shampoo and soaps were fantastic and my hair and skin smelled amazing the whole trip. I miss the soap! I did notice that you can hear the people in the room next door, but honestly I didn't really mind and everyone is generally pretty quiet--except for in the morning when everyone is opening and closing their doors to go get breakfast. The breakfast was beyond fantastic--the reviews about Amy's muffins and the fruit are not exaggerating. I am dairy-free so the availability of the soy and almond milk and the Earth Balance was SO appreciated! Dan bakes the quinoa bread every morning and Amy keeps you guessing with the muffins. The fruit is super-duper fresh and SO sweet and yummy. We did love the coffee and the POG juice...it was all just amazing. Dan asked what sort of yogurt I like to buy since I'm dairy-free and the next day it appeared for me. What a sweetie! We didn't meet Amy, but Dan was really nice and always available to chit-chat or give advice on where to go and what to do. We loved the free water bottles and Dan even made sure we had a little to-go breakfast on the day we went kayaking before breakfast. The pool was great and the whole building is just fabulous and peaceful--the views are stellar and the flowers are so gorgeous. The B&B is in a residential neighborhood, which we liked actually, and is just a short drive (7-10) min from Front Street, which is where all the stores and restaurants are. We loved that we could go hang out all day and then head back to the quiet hotel for a nap everyday.
Overall, our experience was absolutely serene, beautiful, tropical, and cockroach free. You do see little geckos all over but we made friends with all of them and they were welcome to hang out...so were the teeny-tiny frogs in the shower. :)
We both got teary-eyed the day we had to leave and we are already planning to come back on our 5th anniversary. Dan and Amy, truly you have left us both breathless and missing your B&B so much...thank you for making our honeymoon such an incredible memory. We have already recommended you to dozens of coworkers and friends. Mahalo, Brenna and Tom

Room Tip: We stayed in Akalu Manu and it has a view of the ocean to your left if you sit on the far right of y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    24
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
224
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
new york
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have traveled extensively and have never found such a gem! The building is absolutely beautiful with furniture from Bali. It is so clean and well furnished! Breakfast was amazing! From the vegan muffins and almond milk to the exotic coffees and teas to the fruit salad daily....Dan and Amy even gave us water bottels for traveling and had a filtered water dispenser for us to use! Our bathroom was so beautiful and the outdoor shower was dreamy. It's a minute from the beach but high enough to get the best view of Lahaina. It is so peaceful and so well equipped with umbrellas and beach chairs to borrow, and amazing towels and robes. I will be back!

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room with screens on the windows so you can sleep in the beautiful breeze with no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Mahalo to Dan and Amy for everything. We enjoyed every moment we spent at the Ho'oilo House and will definitely recommend their B&B to our friends who plan on visiting Maui. Close to Lahaina but far enough to find some peace. We had a wonderful time. Breakfast was perfect in the morning with home made bread and muffins (thanks to Amy!), different juices, fresh fruits, yogurt... The view is spectacular from the Nalu room and we enjoyed having our daily drink beside the pool watching the sun go down over the water... haaaaaaa ... The place is clean (thanks to Yariet!) and as for the gecko's, crickets and birds, well, they are part of Hawaii! Dan is very kind and helpful and will definitely recommend a good restaurant, a place to pick up a sandwich on the road to Hana or a good instructor for a surf lesson! Many thanks. We both appreciated our stay, and would have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Nalu has a great view on the ocean and it is worth trading the king size bed of other rooms. A/C wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardsville, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Ho'oilo House provided the serene, spiritual experience I was searching for on my solo trip to Maui. The property is located up a hill in an upscale neighborhood and provides you with a breathtaking view of the sea and the islands of Molokai and Lanai. It was also close to Lahaina town and Kaanapali, but away from all of the hubbub and activity. My room was clean, well-appointed, and the outdoor shower was so refreshing! It was nice to be able to shower while listening to the birds and taking in the mountain views. Breakfast was fresh fruit and delicious homemade muffins, and assorted teas, coffee, and juice--I looked forward to it every morning. Also worth noting is that Dan, who owns the property with his wife Amy, was fantastic in providing suggestions for restaurants and activities, and he even weighed my suitcases to make sure they weren't overweight before I left for the airport! Overall, I was truly impressed, and will for sure come back here soon. I can't imagine staying anywhere else on Maui. Thanks Dan and Amy!

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Having just returned from a magical five-night stay at Ho'oilo House, I am thoroughly mystified by the hostile, nasty tone of some of the reviews I've seen here (granted, they're in the minority, but still...).

- In short: my spouse and I don't pick our lodgings based on how willing the proprietors are to schmooze with their customers. Who cares? As it was, Dan could not have been more helpful (his recommendations for restaurants, beaches and such were spot on), and while we had less contact with Amy, she too was friendly and available.
- Yeah, we found one cockroach in our room. It took all of 10 seconds to trap it and send it outside.
- Everything about our room, the Akala Manu, was superb -- size, bed, shower, bath, you name it. The breakfast was everything we wanted. And as many others have written here, the location and view are quite literally breathtaking. After staying at Ho'oilo House, we can't imagine staying at one of the faceless mega-resorts in Kaanapali, or anywhere else; when we return to Maui, as we surely will, this place will be one of the main reasons. As for the haters... Lighten up, gang. No, wait. On second thought, if you don't like this place, great. Don't ever come back. That'll leave more opportunities for us and the others who recognize how marvelous it is.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights during our honeymoon and really really loved everything about the Place. It's only a 5 minutes Drive to beautiful Lahaina Old Town. Still it is kind of a getaway and you really can enjoy silence and a peaceful ambient. We had the Nalu bungalow and woke up with a great view over the ocean. The room was very clean and calm. Breakfast is made with love. Always fresh fruits, own baked bread and muffins. The owners are super kind and try to help wherever they can. Dan & Amy - thanks for everything. We'll definetly come back one day!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had an great time staying at the Ho'oilo house! The breakfast was fresh and a delicious start to the day (esp the granola), grounds are beautiful, the wood work is spectacular, and the outdoor showers are a great plus. Beautiful view of the ocean and mountains.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ho'oilo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ho'oilo House

Address: 138 Awaiku St., Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ho'oilo House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the West Maui Mountains, this quiet, private Bed & Breakfast offers incredible views of the Pacific Ocean and islands surrounding Maui. Located on the popular west side of the island, you will be just minutes from the historic whaling town of Lahaina and the Kaanapali resort area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ho'oilo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ho`Oilo House Hotel Lahaina
Ho'Oilo House Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ho'oilo House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.