We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely peaceful, far less crowded and very relaxed...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ho'oilo House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ho'oilo House to your Saves list
Ho'oilo House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   138 Awaiku St., Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extremely peaceful, far less crowded and very relaxed...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Three words can sum up our six day stay at Ho`oilo House; extremely peaceful, far less crowded and very relaxed.

We looked forward to the very healthy breakfasts every morning especially Amy's homemade bread & biscuits, yum!!!

And the very private outside showers were as close to nature as one can get.

Their hard wired in room high speed internet connection allowed me to communicate around the world from paradise on my time line.

Charles David Dreher
Executive Vice-President
Commonwealth Capital Advisors

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    27
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
242
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the B&B last week and enjoyed two nights in Wailele and one night in Nalu. We preferred the layout of Wailele but how can you better the view from Nalu. Just such an awesome sight of the ocean. Staying in a hotel is just not us so after spending three days in Hana renting a small cottage this B&B was a great choice. We had concerns about the area but being just minutes from town when it seems like so much further is ideal. Amy and Dan are helpful and will make great recommendations for you to enjoy a meal or an activity. Cost is not the lowest out there but you do get what you pay for.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and myself spent 2 days at Ho'oilo House the beginning of December. We both agree it was the the most picture perfect place we have ever stayed. The rooms were very well appointed, extremely comfy bed and we loved the outdoor shower. We had a beautiful view of the ocean along with the sunsets! We ordered the cheese tray along with some local wine and it was well worth it.
Breakfast was very good, along with the coffee and special teas.
Dan was excellent and gave us great tips on where to go etc...they have boogie boards, chairs, umbrellas and hats for you to use. You just can't get this kind of service in a hotel.
Thanks again to Dan and Amy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is an absolutely beautiful property. The rooms are sumptuous, the grounds are meticulously maintained, the view is beautiful, and the pool and common areas are top notch. It's about a 15 minute drive into Lahaina. The owners were friendly and helpful. I thought the cost was very reasonable for Maui and a great value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

You will find fantastic views, elegant forniture and quality in every detail. Tasty home made breakfasts, fine teas and great local coffee. For sure a very good choice for central Maui. Little bit out of town, so rented car is needed. Expensive. Probably too much....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We LOVED our stay at Ho'oilo House. The pictures do not do this place justice, it really takes your breath away. We stayed in the Akala Manu room; the mountain and water views were perfect for us. And the bed was huge and so comfortable!

I didn't get an opportunity to meet Amy, but we saw Dan every morning and he was very helpful with any questions that we had. They were running a promotion where if you check into the B&B on facebook you get a free beach tote - I recommend doing that because the tote was very helpful for us the week we were there! They also have many beach accessories available to you, from umbrellas, coolers, beach chairs, etc. You will get 2 fresh beach towels in your room every day which are great as well.

The breakfast is fantastic, I miss having fresh fruit and freshly baked muffins every morning! And the POG juice is definitely worth trying, it is so yummy!

I had seen some reviews on here that Amy and Dan were a bit stand-offish, but that was not our experience at ALL. Dan was very friendly and thoughtful. On our last day I got to breakfast later than I had the previous days, and there weren't any muffins at the table. I assumed they were just out of them, which was fine, but Dan saw me and quickly brought out more for me.We also had an issue with our outdoor shower doors when we arrived, and Dan had that resolved right away when we brought it to his attention.

I would love to go back to Ho'oilo House someday! I recommend this B&B for anyone, it doesn't have to be just couples.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Ho'oilo House mid October for our Wedding/Honeymoon/Vacation in Maui. We both loved everything about the Ho'oilo House and it was even better than what we expected. Some of the highlights included... the perfect distance from the action on front street, the most amazing views as you drive down the road to get to the main road.. I have so many pictures of the sky, it was one of the prettiest views we saw in Maui, the room itself was very clean and perfect, I loved the music thats pipped in to the rooms, it was so nice for nap time! The outdorr shower is amazing, and the views from our shower was perfect, we stayed in the Akala Manu. I could go on and on and on, trust me, this is the place to stay in Maui. we toured around the island and I cant say there wa sanother area I rather have stayed in. I hope to be bale to return one day!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ho'oilo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ho'oilo House

Address: 138 Awaiku St., Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ho'oilo House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the West Maui Mountains, this quiet, private Bed & Breakfast offers incredible views of the Pacific Ocean and islands surrounding Maui. Located on the popular west side of the island, you will be just minutes from the historic whaling town of Lahaina and the Kaanapali resort area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Ho'oilo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ho`Oilo House Hotel Lahaina
Ho'Oilo House Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ho'oilo House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.