We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ho'oilo House

Save Saved
You added Ho'oilo House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ho'oilo House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   138 Awaiku St., Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Super Summer Special
Ranked #2 of 13 Lahaina B&B and Inns
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and myself spent 2 days at Ho'oilo House the beginning of December. We both agree it was the the most picture perfect place we have ever stayed. The rooms were very well appointed, extremely comfy bed and we loved the outdoor shower. We had a beautiful view of the ocean along with the sunsets! We ordered the cheese tray along with some local wine and it was well worth it.
Breakfast was very good, along with the coffee and special teas.
Dan was excellent and gave us great tips on where to go etc...they have boogie boards, chairs, umbrellas and hats for you to use. You just can't get this kind of service in a hotel.
Thanks again to Dan and Amy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    24
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
223
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is an absolutely beautiful property. The rooms are sumptuous, the grounds are meticulously maintained, the view is beautiful, and the pool and common areas are top notch. It's about a 15 minute drive into Lahaina. The owners were friendly and helpful. I thought the cost was very reasonable for Maui and a great value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

You will find fantastic views, elegant forniture and quality in every detail. Tasty home made breakfasts, fine teas and great local coffee. For sure a very good choice for central Maui. Little bit out of town, so rented car is needed. Expensive. Probably too much....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We LOVED our stay at Ho'oilo House. The pictures do not do this place justice, it really takes your breath away. We stayed in the Akala Manu room; the mountain and water views were perfect for us. And the bed was huge and so comfortable!

I didn't get an opportunity to meet Amy, but we saw Dan every morning and he was very helpful with any questions that we had. They were running a promotion where if you check into the B&B on facebook you get a free beach tote - I recommend doing that because the tote was very helpful for us the week we were there! They also have many beach accessories available to you, from umbrellas, coolers, beach chairs, etc. You will get 2 fresh beach towels in your room every day which are great as well.

The breakfast is fantastic, I miss having fresh fruit and freshly baked muffins every morning! And the POG juice is definitely worth trying, it is so yummy!

I had seen some reviews on here that Amy and Dan were a bit stand-offish, but that was not our experience at ALL. Dan was very friendly and thoughtful. On our last day I got to breakfast later than I had the previous days, and there weren't any muffins at the table. I assumed they were just out of them, which was fine, but Dan saw me and quickly brought out more for me.We also had an issue with our outdoor shower doors when we arrived, and Dan had that resolved right away when we brought it to his attention.

I would love to go back to Ho'oilo House someday! I recommend this B&B for anyone, it doesn't have to be just couples.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Ho'oilo House mid October for our Wedding/Honeymoon/Vacation in Maui. We both loved everything about the Ho'oilo House and it was even better than what we expected. Some of the highlights included... the perfect distance from the action on front street, the most amazing views as you drive down the road to get to the main road.. I have so many pictures of the sky, it was one of the prettiest views we saw in Maui, the room itself was very clean and perfect, I loved the music thats pipped in to the rooms, it was so nice for nap time! The outdorr shower is amazing, and the views from our shower was perfect, we stayed in the Akala Manu. I could go on and on and on, trust me, this is the place to stay in Maui. we toured around the island and I cant say there wa sanother area I rather have stayed in. I hope to be bale to return one day!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Nestled not too far from downtown lahaina the views are spectacular. The house is beautiful and very balanced. We stayed in the "honu" and enjoyed it very much. The bathroom with outdoor shower was great as well. A private couples massage on the lani is highly recommended and you also have the option for a private dinner by personal chef but the menu wasn't our thing, be sure to ask though as it may change from time to time. Breakfast is continental but very tasty, loved the granola and muffins. Amy and Dan are always willing to help and answer questions and have plenty of boogie boards, beach umbrellas, and towels for your visit. Enjoyed our stay and hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Ho'oilo House is a very special type of B&B. It's filled with beautiful hardwood furnishings, and from what we saw and heard from other guests, all the six bedrooms are really comfortable and well-appointed. The main living/breakfast room is really welcoming and looks out over the pool, which in turn gives you stunning views of the ocean. Amy and Dan have truly created a place which is serene and peaceful and lovely. Having a (very private) outdoor shower, out there, in the amazing flower-scented Maui air, was just incredible and reminded us nightly that we were a LONG way from London. True, the breakfasts were perhaps a bit samey after 5 days, but it was fine and we never went hungry. We stayed in two different rooms whilst we were there: Kipuka is larger and has a view of the gardens from the lanai; Kohala is slightly smaller but has an ocean-facing lanai - and a not-so-private toilet, which we coped with fine, but I guess if you were a newer couple, you might want to consider when choosing your room! As far as location goes, Lahaina and all the beautiful beaches of West Maui are just a short drive away, so all in all, it's just a lovely, very special place that we wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ho'oilo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ho'oilo House

Address: 138 Awaiku St., Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ho'oilo House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the West Maui Mountains, this quiet, private Bed & Breakfast offers incredible views of the Pacific Ocean and islands surrounding Maui. Located on the popular west side of the island, you will be just minutes from the historic whaling town of Lahaina and the Kaanapali resort area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Ho'oilo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ho`Oilo House Hotel Lahaina
Ho'Oilo House Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ho'oilo House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.