We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Show” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ulalena by Maui Theatre

Ulalena by Maui Theatre
878 Front Street, Suite B-4, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
808-856-7900
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #10 of 64 attractions in Lahaina
Type: Performances, Theaters
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: 'Ulalena is a world-renowned Hawaiian theatre production dedicated to telling the story of Hawaii's people. The critically acclaimed stage show outlines the islands’ creation, transformation and rebirth by integrating ancient Hawaiian history with state-of-the-art theater technology, and stunning music, chant, dance and acrobatics. 'Ulalena speaks to the imagination and inspires the human spirit to keep the Hawaiian culture alive. An invaluable cultural experience and a must-do on Maui!
Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was a great show, full of color, history, music and action. Part of the show reaches into the audience and makes everyone feel a part of the show. A must see at a reasonable price.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    125
    56
    21
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cookeville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Ulalena Has Wow Factor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The show kept us so engrossed, we wondered where the time went when it was over. My husband and I went to a luau also, and this was far better in telling the story of the Hawaiian people. Even though it's related in the Hawaiian language, with the handouts it was easy to follow. (There's parking validation for four hours in the lot behind the post office.)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The show was the story of the birth of Hawaii and how it evolved to a more modern time. It was very entertaining and kept my attention from start to finish. It did contain some humor as well. The night my husband and I went the show got a standing ovation.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We saw the show when we were in Maui for my mother's 78th birthday. It was great learning something about the native culture...definitely something to experience when visiting Hawaii for the 1st time.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great show!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a wonderful show telling the native story of the island of Maui through music, chants, and story telling. This show has live music and is presented in an intimate theater with no bad seats.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ulalena by Maui Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Ulalena by Maui Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ulalena by Maui Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ulalena by Maui Theatre to your Saves list