We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Show! A must see!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ulalena by Maui Theatre

Ulalena by Maui Theatre
878 Front Street, Suite B-4, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
+1 808-856-7900
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$62*
and up
Ranked #4 of 39 Attractions in Lahaina
Type: Performances, Theaters & Stadiums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 'Ulalena is a world-renowned Hawaiian theatre production dedicated to telling the story of Hawaii's people. The critically acclaimed stage show outlines the islands’ creation, transformation and rebirth by integrating ancient Hawaiian history with state-of-the-art theater technology, and stunning music, chant, dance and acrobatics. 'Ulalena speaks to the imagination and inspires the human spirit to keep the Hawaiian culture alive. An invaluable cultural experience and a must-do on Maui!
Honokowai, Hawaii, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Show! A must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I am not a huge show person, but I thoroughly enjoyed this performance. The VIP seating is recommended for the after show experience as well. For the slight extra, I really think it is worth meeting the cast and getting an in depth explanation of the show.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    136
    63
    21
    22
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Very entertaining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I went to see this show and paid for upfront seating that allowed you to meet the cast afterwards. It would have been worth it if both of us weren't sick and left after the show.

The show itself was great! It engaged the audience, it was hilarious at times, and there were a few points that reminded me Cirque du Soliel. It was a fun show to see.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“maui 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Great show, loved the end when the cast came out and talked with everyone. Dinner after wasnt the best but it was okay.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wash dc
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Cirque de Soleil grounded in myth”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

In parts it was an electrifying performance (the Pele portions) but overall it was disjointed and did not engage the audience. The percussion and other musical accompaniment outshone the action on stage much of the time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not your run of the mill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Beautiful show and music, one of the best values on Maui. We have seen the show several times and love it every time we see it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ulalena by Maui Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Ulalena by Maui Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ulalena by Maui Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.