We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ulalena by Maui Theatre

Ulalena by Maui Theatre
878 Front Street, Suite B-4, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
+1 808-856-7900
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Ulalena by Maui Theatre like an insider
$62*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 'Ulalena is a world-renowned Hawaiian theatre production dedicated to telling the story of Hawaii's people. The critically acclaimed stage show outlines the islands’ creation, transformation and rebirth by integrating ancient Hawaiian history with state-of-the-art theater technology, and stunning music, chant, dance and acrobatics. 'Ulalena speaks to the imagination and inspires the human spirit to keep the Hawaiian culture alive. An invaluable cultural experience and a must-do on Maui!
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

An excellent display of art, dance and culture! Showcasing Hawaii's rich history and timeless tradition!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    574
    150
    65
    21
    22
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Show!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Loved the show!! Really gives you the history of the area !! Singers had wonderful voices!! Seats were great, no matter where you sit the views would have been great because theatre was small!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Artistic Story of Maui”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

If you are into theatre arts, you will enjoy this production which is performed by a cast of about 20 persons. Most people probably enjoyed it more than we did. We did like parts of it and it is well-rehearsed.

DINNER PACKAGE; We chose the "show and dinner package" which was priced at $249.90.
(That is $119.50 plus tax per person). The restaurant was "Ruth's Chris Steak House". The meal was awesome !!


CONCEPT; There are basically nine scenes which depict the creation, transformation and rebirth of Maui. You receive a pamphet upon entering the theatre which describes each scene. READ IT before the show begins. It will help you to understand the production. However, there is very little narration and sometimes you don't know which scene is being depicted. Unalena is the Hawaiian word for wind
.

PRODUCTION; There is a good deal of chanting and a live band plays background sounds to create atmosphere. There are many fascinating visual effects. An acrobat performs some graceful moves on a hoop high up in the air and also does some beautiful manoeuvres on a long, fabric drape.

You have to interpret what chants and synchronized group moves mean in relation to the story.

CONCLUSION; This production gets great reviews --- most people obviously love it and some have seen it more than once. For us, it just did not provide enough entertainment to warrant the cost. .However, the fabulous dinner at Ruth;s Chris Steak House was a good portion of the cost. But I am glad we went to see Ulalena simply because it is so highly rated. Had we not attended the performance, we would have always wondered what it was like. As I said at the beginning, if a person is really into theatre arts, I believe you could appreciate it more than we did. So my rating of a "3" is only based on our personal preference of entertainment.

Go and enjoy ! !

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“If you like theatre this is for you!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed the show. The music was amazing.We purchased tickets in the VIP section and paid to much. You could get tickets for 29.00 that would have been just as good as far as viewing. Worth seeing, but not at the price we paid.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Different, but most enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Shades of a stripped-down Cirque du Soleil artistic performance, chronicling the history of humans on Hawaii. Very well done by a young and enthusiastic cast.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ulalena by Maui Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Ulalena by Maui Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ulalena by Maui Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.