We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never tire of this wonderful show” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ulalena by Maui Theatre

Ulalena by Maui Theatre
878 Front Street, Suite B-4, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
+1 808-856-7900
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$62*
and up
Ranked #4 of 39 Attractions in Lahaina
Type: Performances, Theaters & Stadiums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 'Ulalena is a world-renowned Hawaiian theatre production dedicated to telling the story of Hawaii's people. The critically acclaimed stage show outlines the islands’ creation, transformation and rebirth by integrating ancient Hawaiian history with state-of-the-art theater technology, and stunning music, chant, dance and acrobatics. 'Ulalena speaks to the imagination and inspires the human spirit to keep the Hawaiian culture alive. An invaluable cultural experience and a must-do on Maui!
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never tire of this wonderful show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Saw this many times and it never gets old. We take all our family and friends who come to Maui with us to see this. Even my grandchildren were sitting on the edge of their chairs and it kept their interest till the end of the show.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    136
    63
    21
    22
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Like going to Vegas, but. Hawaiian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The show was quite good - the performers were no less than excellent. The music and staging was as well-done as I've seen anywhere, including Cirque de Soleil. The show is music, dancing singing, some acrobatics. The live musicians were terrific as well.

If you get the VIP package, you can stay for an after-the-show discussion, which had more heart and soul than the show itself -I was truly impressed by how *nice* the performers were in person.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Okay, but only need to go once...if you have time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have to say that it wasn't a bad show. All of the performers were excellent. It is a mix of a play, dance, theatrical, musical. My favorite parts were looking over to the right (get a seat on the left or middle as you're facing the stage) and watching all of the musicians doing the live music/percussion as the entire show is going on. I found that fascinating. It was different and had some acrobatics and dance that I enjoyed watching.

However, I was a little bored in the middle. I am mid-30s, and I went with three parents (60-somethings), and two of the 60-somethings just LOVED it. But we knew they would, because this type of art show was right up their alley. I enjoy shows, but I kind of knew by the description that it wouldn't be my top activity. I would have preferred to put my money towards something else :) So it was a good show to go see once, but I wouldn't pay to see it again on my next trip to Maui. I'd rather just hang out in Lahaina at night instead :)

We got a slight discount booking online, but when we got to Costco in Kahului, we noticed they had gift cards (buy a $100 gift card for $75). Unfortunately, we had already paid for our tickets. So Costco's items do change, but if you can wait to book it, check out Costco when you get there to see if you can get a better discount. And really, any seat in the house is good, even the cheap seats in the back. Wish we would have booked those seats because the tickets are pretty pricey, but it worked out fine.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

For a brilliant show experience see Ulalena! Everything--dancers/dancing, acting, sets, costumes, music, choreography, and musicians, top class. Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encino
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very Entertaining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My wife & I saw this show on our recent trip to Maui. Very entertaining, indeed! We were so impressed throughout the entire performance. It's a play of sorts...would describe it as a combination of dance, music, acrobatics (these were phenomenal) & story-telling. Expected to enjoy it, but didn't expect to be blown away. The cast seems to be most young folks for the most part; felt so proud of them. Several of them posed for pictures with audience members, in the lobby, after the show. Very professional changes of scenery with the stage; a very well choreographed production. Highly recommend- MUCH better than any luau if looking for a taste of Hawaiian culture/tradition/history.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ulalena by Maui Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Ulalena by Maui Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ulalena by Maui Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.