We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing .... nature” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trilogy Excursions

Trilogy Excursions
207 Kupuohi St., Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
808-874-5649
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 132 activities in Lahaina
Type: Tours
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing .... nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had the pleasure of taking the 8 a.m. whale watching tour from Kaanapali on March 22. We were very impressed with the crew of Carrie and Thomas. Carrie's enthusiasm and Thomas' quiet but knowledgeable comments made the incredible display by the whales an unforgettable experience. We were most fortunate to have several up close encounters with the whales. At least three breaches and at one point a whale lifting its tail majestically showing its white markings up close. Truly unforgettable. An experience like this is really up to the whales but the crew made our trip much more fun. The captain even let us enjoy whale karaoke. The sounds of the whales in the ocean. Thanks all!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,150
    138
    52
    14
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Trip to Lanai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We did the trip to Lanai which included unrushed time on the way over because we came across whales that wanted to entertain us. Beautiful Humpback whales breeching, slapping tails and fins. We had fresh warm rolls in the morning and later snack wraps. The staff is friendly and courteous. Brian, Orrin, and of course Marco that gives the Snuba instructions. He will make you feel completely comfortable on your first snuba experience with a little humor thrown in at times. You will have plenty of time to explore the beautiful beach at Lanai followed by a tasty barbeque, Triology staff serving your meal with a smile. A van tour to Lanai City is also offered which gives a lot of history of the island. Your trip home may include some spinner dolphin escorts as you enjoy a chocolate sundae or a Mai Tai. Ive done this trip twice and cant say enough good things about it. A full day of fun.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“trilogy molokini snorkel trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Captain Yoshi and crew were fabulous hosts on our trip to Molokini. We stopped for whales and went to turtle town first to avoid the morning crowds at Molokini. When we looked at a competitors boat with 150 people onboard and all decks crowded, we knew had picked the right tour with a small group of 28. Their max was only 7 people more and there was plenty of room. The breakfast and lunch they served was fresh and delicious. The day was topped off with a beautiful sail back to Maalaea Harbour. I would highly recommend this company to anyone who wanted a great experience without the huge crowds. It costs a little more but it was well worth it!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Expensive and overrated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We took this Molokini Snorkel back in 2012 and we had to drive to Maalaea Harbor (with a very early departure time) which is not very convenient. Parking instructions are vague and had to walk quite a distance to get to their port. Although they do 2 stops for the snorkeling trip, they do so hurriedly and that is the reason they are able to do 2 sites. Moreover, although they say they take less customers in each trip, that is because the boat itself can take lesser number of people. IT was crowded! The ride was pretty rough causing a number of passengers to feel like vomiting. Molokini is overrated. There is not that many fishes and the waters are not that clear! All in all, overpriced and overrated!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LovinMauiLahaina, Public Relations Manager at Trilogy Excursions, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Aloha,

We appreciate your taking the time to offer your opinion about your recent sail with Trilogy, although it's disappointing so many months have passed between your sail and your decision to offer a review. Had you made us aware of your concerns on the day of your trip we would have made an effort to alleviate your concerns.

Also, it's unfortunate that you chose to offer us such a poor review for so many factors which are out of our control. It seems as if you are offering a poor review of Molokini Crater itself at the expense of our operation.

Yes, our snorkel tour to Molokini does depart from Ma'alaea Harbor, although this is where virtually all tours to Molokini depart from. There are not any Molokini tours which depart from the Lahaina/Ka'anapali side of the island, and there are only a handful of boats which depart from locations across Kihei/Wailea/Makena. We understand that you felt you needed to drive a far distance to reach the harbor, but had you chosen another company you would have departed from the same place.

Similarly, since Ma'alaea Harbor is a public harbor, the parking situation is the same for all tour companies departing out of Ma'alaea. If you would prefer to not search for a spot, there is now a parking lot where you can pay a small fee and park your car for the entire day.

Per the amount of people on the boat, we only sail with a maximum of 50-55 passengers depending on which one of our two boats you are on. We offer wide, stable catamarans, and we're sorry to hear that you felt the boat was too crowded for your liking.

Also, the waters off of Ma'alaea are often rough during the afternoon hours on our return trip to the harbor, although our catamarans are not only safe, but are able to sail smoothly despite the rough conditions. For those who are prone to seasickness we have motion sickness remedies available free of charge, and we recommend that passengers take some sort of preventative steps if they know they are prone to motion sickness.

Finally, we offer at least one hour of snorkeling time at each of our two locations, and we also offer multiple areas of entry and exit on the boats so that you may quickly enter the water when we first reach the snorkeling site. On some days there might be an exception where we need to leave a spot early due to the conditions or weather, and it's unfortunate that you felt you were rushed during this part of the excursion.

Our company also offers snorkeling excursions to the island of Lana'i as well as off of Ka'anapali beach to snorkeling sites along the west shore of Maui. If Molokini itself was the part of your excursion which prompted the rating of your review, we encourage you to join us for an excursion to an alternate snorkeling site which might provide you with a better review of our company as a whole.

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Molokini Snorkel/Original Discover Lanai...fun but you will see the same fish everywhere!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

My family and I did two different excursions with Trilogy and were very impressed with this tour company but there was one drawback. The first trip was the MOLOKINI SNORKEL the professionalism by captain and crew was excellent, we felt safe and comfortable, we were also very well fed. My father-in-law warned us that the fish though, were the same everywhere around Maui and that we might be a bit disappointed as our previous trips have always been in the Carribean and he was right but we decided to go with a tour company as we had not been to Maui and wanted to see for ourselves what was out there. Had I and my son realized that we were going to be seasick for the first time..ever...we would have taken seasick meds prior to leaving the pier. My son was sick the entire time on the boat..be forewarned that this trip is on the water ALL DAY...the crew took excellent care of him but as he never ate nor snorkelled nor Snuba we had understood on the boat that he would get an entire refund back...however only the Snuba was refunded (better than nothing I guess) SO this brings me to explain the "drawback" of this particular trip...there were special requirements required for Snuba which were not outlined on the website info (health wise that is) and which required a special waiver to be filled out and signed by each Snuba participant. Most people signed up and paid for Snuba were quite shocked that they had not been told of this waiver so my recommendation to Trilogy is to maybe post all of the requirements and maybe scan a copy of the waiver and attach it to your website so that people can be better informed of what a person requires so they don't have go through the whole refund process afterward!
Trip #2 was the Original Discover Lanai...once again we (my husband and I) were treated most excellently and this trip was a lot of fun...great captain and crew!!!! Great food and snorkelling and fun on the beach, my recommendation to this trip is I wish we had not done the side trip to Lanai City, our tour van driver was very nice but the tour was not what we had expected, we thought we might be getting out to walk a bit and look around but the entire tour was about seeing the golf course which was beautiful but we really didn't want to see the school, post office, town hall, etc. so we felt quite bored and disappointed, we wished we would have just spent the entire time on the beach and snorkelling.
In regards to both trips we had some spectacular whale watching and fun all around but our next trip back we will do our own snorkelling instead of paying for a tour however if you are not familiar with the island Trilogy is a great company to go with if want to see what's around you, they give 200% customer service, are knowledgeable , fun and make you feel totally safe.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trilogy Excursions also viewed

 

Been to Trilogy Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trilogy Excursions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Trilogy Excursions to your Saves list