We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Best Day of 7 Great Days on Maui” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trilogy Excursions

Trilogy Excursions
207 Kupuohi St., Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
808-874-5649
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 165 Activities in Lahaina
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
The Panhandle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our Best Day of 7 Great Days on Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We spent Valentine's Day on the Discover Lanai tour. We have been coming to Maui every other year since 2001 and have always taken some kind of outing with Trilogy. The crew members are always personable, capable and there to make you feel safe and special. This particular tour includes whale watching, snorkeling in Manele Bay, a tour of Lanai City and a barbeque while on Lanai. It wasn't advertised, but the crew also put up the sails for most of the ride back to Lahaina and it was fantastic. The reviews this company consistently receives are well-deserved. As a heads-up, our captain did not set out a tip jar for the crew but suggested we give individual tips as we left the boat.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,431
    153
    56
    14
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“DO IT DO IT DO IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We took the snorkeling catamaran to Honolua Bay which is a marine preserve and loved every minute of it! The drinks flow, the crew is a blast, the lunch they serve is really good!!! and the snorkeling amazing in this protected bay. They do a great job and we will go again with them to another snorkeling place probably to Lanai.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“False intentions for Molokini snorkel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Four of us booked a trip to snorkel at Molokini with Trilogy (out of Ma'alea) because of the high rating on your site. Conditions that morning were high winds and very rough seas. Once the boat left the dock we were only then told that we would not be going to Molokini because of water/wind conditions. We completely believe the company knew ahead of time that conditions prohibited the scheduled trip. We are VERY unhappy that we were not given this information before the boat sailed and given the opportunity to reschedule the trip. We did go to Olowalu, a turtle area, but then had to wait over 30 minutes for an anchor spot. Eventually we were allowed into the water which was still very choppy and strong currents. Most of the people were ordered to return to the boat almost immediately (3-5 minutes max) because it was too rough for snorkelers.
A few passengers who protested were offered a discount ticket for a whale watch trip (but
we had already done that) and that compensated only about $15 when we had spent $103 for the snorkel trip. On the plus side, the crew was very pleasant and acted promptly and skillfully to rescue several swimmers who were in serious trouble in the water. The food was good. We did a lot of whale watching so the trip was not a total waste.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LovinMauiLahaina, Public Relations Manager at Trilogy Excursions, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your review of Trilogy Excursions, and we agree that poor weather can really put a damper on any snorkeling experience. Though we are empathetic of your situation, we can assure you that our captains choose snorkeling spots which are the best for the given set of natural circumstances, and we do our absolute best to keep all passengers informed of the weather's potential impact on the trip.

The wind and weather conditions in Hawaii can often change quickly, and we trust our captains implicitly to make judgement calls which are in the best interests of our guests. While we understand if can be disappointing to not have been able to snorkel at Molokini Crater, the chances of getting to the crater cannot be ruled out until it's blatantly apparent that it's too rough. Given the shifting nature of the winds, sometimes that decision cannot be made until the boat has already left the harbor. For more detailed information on how wind direction affects Maui's snorkeling locations, we encourage you to read the article "Understanding Maui's Wind, Weather, and Waves", which is posted on our blog.

Again, we appreciate your feedback, and we are glad to hear that the staff was accommodating and you were able to spend some time whale watching. We hope that the remainder of your island vacation has been enjoyable in light of the blustery conditions, and should you decide to make a return trip to the islands we would love to have a second chance at getting you out to Molokini Crater.

Mahalo,

Trilogy Excursions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Whale Watching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went with Trilogy on the recommendation of friends and their advice paid off. We saw many whales and learned a great deal about them. The Capt and crew were phenomenal and we would definitely return to Trilogy on our next visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Trilogy "Experience Lanai" Cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This full day trip (9:45 - 6:15) was absolutely wonderful. Crew was friendly, informative; the ship was spotlessly clean; and the food onboard and onshore was excellent. The itinerary was great - plenty of time at the beach with time to see the town, and time at sea was filled with sights and passed quickly. On our February trip, we saw whales every few minutes, many close up, along with bottlenose dolphin, spinner dolphin, and magnificent tropic birds. Well worth the money!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trilogy Excursions also viewed

 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Trilogy Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trilogy Excursions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.