We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Charter Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scotch Mist Sailing Charters

Scotch Mist Sailing Charters
Lahaina Harbor, Slip #2, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96767
808-661-0386
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 164 Activities in Lahaina
Type: Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Private Charter Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

On Saturday, December 28th we booked a 4 hour private charter with Captain Gene, First Mate Kursten and Second Mate Lacey. The experience was thoroughly enjoyed by all nine members of all family ages 10 to grandma. The trip commenced with an hour long close up encounter with a 100 strong pod of spinner dolphins, followed by an enjoyable off boat snorkel with all equipment supplied and culminated with an humpback whale sighting: mother, baby and escort. The crew were most attentive to keeping us dehydrated on a hot day! If you have a similar size group I would highly recommend a private charter with the Scotch Mist. It was a great shared family vacation experience, the sailboat is lovely and the crew professional!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    23
    5
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Danville, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Memorial Charter Service on Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We gathered together old Maui friends to celebrate my brother's memorial service and release of his ashes. The crew was kind, compassionate and attentive to our needs for time to troll, share remarks and remember old friendship ties. I would highly recommend the Scotch Mist 2 and crew.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Excellent time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

If you are looking for good company, plenty of booze, an intimate setting, photo taking opportunities, a beautiful sunset, and a fantastic sailing adventure, then Scotch Mist is the one for you. My wife and I had a fun time with the crew and 4 other couples on the boat. The crew was exeptionally friendly and they kept the drinks coming. We had a choice of light beer (budlight I believe) and/or champagne. They took our pictures on the front of the boat as well as with the captain. It's about an hour long and totally worth it. We'd do it again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gifu, Japan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Sail and Snorkel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We went on the snorkel trip with two young children. Captain Turk is a very experienced skipper, he and his crew were nice to chat with and we really appreciated that they were so helpful with the kids. The initial planned snorkel spot was too murky, so we continued on to the second spot which was much clearer. Upon arrival, a large turtle surfaced next to the boat. The snorkelling was pretty good and it was great to go for a sail.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Sail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Very enjoyable champagne cruise with chocolate (or wine or beer.) Captain Turk and the deck hands were great. They made sure to make everyone welcome and created conversation with each person. The champagne, or other libation, was not a single small serving but refilled as much as you wanted. The views of the Maui coastline and picture taking opportunities were those that you cannot get except on the water,

The Scotch Mist II is a smooth sailing 50' vessel. As a small boat sailor I thoroughly enjoyed the two hours on the water but the sail is designed also for those who have never been on the water before. Do this before one of the powerboat cruises out of Lahiana.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scotch Mist Sailing Charters also viewed

 

Been to Scotch Mist Sailing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scotch Mist Sailing Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.