We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Luau” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Lahaina Luau

Old Lahaina Luau
1251 Front St, Old Lahaina Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1723
808-667-2998
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 239 Restaurants in Lahaina
Price range: $80 - $80
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Luau”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

This was a great Luau which covered some of the history of Hawaii. While all Luau's are expensive on Maui I felt this one was original and didn't just exist to take tourist dollars. Our guest services recommended all the others but this one, probably because they received a kick back. This one has an open bar (all drinks can be made non alcoholic too) food was original so it was good to try. This place books out two weeks in advance so be prepared and get reservations. We were lucky enough to get called off the waiting list but dont rely on it. Family had a great time in a beautiful outdoor setting

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    189
    65
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unhappy Experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Unfortunately the evening of our Luau ended in a downpour! It was windy with black clouds when the luau began and they still continued. We did get to eat dinner however our table was last and most of the food was gone or quite cold. Many of the trays were empty and they did not replace these items. We do not drink but they did come around offering other people at our table a variety of alcoholic drinks. When the entertainment began it rained and they did offer a 50%rebate. I did not think that the meal we ate was worth $50 a plate. The leis they gave were really nice.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The food at this Luau was better than when we last did a Luau. The activities before the dinner/show were fun for the kids. The backdrop of being on the water at sunset was ideal.
Wait staff was super nice and kept the drinks flowing w/o delay.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Awesome Luau and Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We were here with a group of 8 friends and family and also celebrating a birthday. It was such a fun evening, service was wonderful and the food was really good. The entertainment was wonderful. If you're in Lahaina, you should definitely try this luau.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Authentic and Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We took our two kids (11 yo and 9yo) to dinner and the luau here. The check in was smooth, drinks all night (kid friendly too), and great food. Masee (I am sure I spelled it wrong - sorry) was amazing and so personable to everyone at the table! The only down side was parking was a little far (and we arrived early) and the kids were too short to see the blessing of the meal at the sand pit.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Lahaina Luau also viewed

 

Been to Old Lahaina Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Lahaina Luau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.