We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical, tropical. Plus great food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lahaina Coolers

Lahaina Coolers
180 Dickenson St., Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
808-661-7082
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 203 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $35
Cuisines: American, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Wainee
British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Tropical, tropical. Plus great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I were escaping from the heat and bustle of highly commercialised Front Street, and wandered down Dickenson Street to get cool and escape the crowds. We found this gloriously open-fronted bar with local beer on tap. Just the time and place to sit down!
It was just after mid-day, and the waiter produced menus.
Well, what a great surprise to find that the bar was also a very good restaurant, with local fish and salads they also serve pizza, but I cannot imagine anyone ordering those when the seafood dishes are so good.
As we sat and enjoyed our beer and food we realized that most of the other people coming in we're locals, and were on first name terms with the owner.
This place is worth a trip into town from Kaanapali, Napili or Kihei.
Excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    99
    25
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Chill spot with great food and drinks.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We love the staff and location of Lahaina Coolers. Outdoor/Indoor Bar & Restaurant. The food is amazing and your lucky if you can catch one of their wine tasting nights. worth asking about forsure!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good spot for pupus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stopped here about 6:30 PM after our flight in and didn't really feel like a big meal, but their pupus looked appealing. We had Crab Wontons, Calamari, and a Goat Cheese Flatbread. All were delicious. My wife had a Lava Flow that was very good, but I was not happy with my Mai Tai . . . pretty much just rum and water, worst Mai Tai of the week. The service seemed a bit slow for the small number of people there, but not terribly so. Enjoyed sitting in their outdoor courtyard on a beautiful evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemead, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not too bad.! Great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Our waiter was a hoot! Food was very decent. They took special requests and the drinks were great. mother had a lava flow that was outta of this world.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“perfect breakfast spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Lahaina Coolers has the best breakfast in Lahaina. Super affordable and everything is great! The kalua pork eggs benedict is amazing. As was the french toast with caramel and macadamia nuts! Their homemade coffee blend is wonderful and their made from scratch hot sauce is fabulous.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lahaina Coolers also viewed

 

Been to Lahaina Coolers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lahaina Coolers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.