We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar
600 Office Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
808-669-6286
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 203 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Sushi, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
San Jose
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Not bad for a vegetarian! I ordered their 'vegetarian pasta' with some spicy black bean sauce - it was delicious! The edamame served early on was good but very salty. The rest of my family ate different kinds of sushi - they liked it so much that they returned! We ended up sitting at the bar with three young children and the bar 'tender' was super friendly and chatty with us - he was from our neck of the woods!

Yes, the happy hour is busy and ppl start to line up about an hour before it opens...so do get their early and order before happy hour ends so that you get 25% off...or better yet make reservations!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    692
    260
    104
    46
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We eat sushi on a regular basis. On vacation in Maui, we were eager to check out the locally highly regarded Sansei Sushi Bar. We were disappointed with the menu and food. They failed to offer the ever popular gyoza for children. The udon soup was good but can u go wrong with noodles and broth? The crab sunomono was delicious. But the bulk of our meal which was sushi was mediocre at best. While the fish was fresh, the rice flavoring was bland. They failed to bring the flavors, or in fact any flavors, together in the sushi. Service was good. She was attentive and food was served quickly. We ate sushi in Maui. We paid a lot of money. Sansei was ok. We r not going back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best Sushi in Hawaii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great ambiance ! Great service ! Sushi was amazing !!! Try the Ahi roll !!! Its delicious !!! worth every penny !!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Springs, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food at reasonable prices (for Maui)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just make sure you make your reservation(s), plenty of days in advance for this place is busy all of the time, and rightfully so.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Best food on Maui weather you like Sushi, fish or steak. Excellent customer service!!! Our family's favorite!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.