We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing sushi... Specially the award winning appetizers...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar

Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar
600 Office Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
808-669-6286
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 203 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Sushi, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing sushi... Specially the award winning appetizers...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I loved the food...sushi was amazing...service was great...interiors could do a bit remodelling...but overall a great experience ...wud recommend this place.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    693
    260
    104
    46
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centerport, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Overpriced, tourist sushi.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We spent over $100 on a few rolls and an appetizer. They completely oversold the mango wraps - um, there was a picture on the table of them. So the servers get points or something for the hard sell? I ordered a roll and asked if they could add avocado. They completely forgot the avocado, and it came out slightly shoved in the back end. One tiny piece of avocado. I should mention that the amount of hamachi was pathetic. Smaller than a dime, in a roll with the circumference of a solver dollar. This place was so disappointing. There is much better sushi on Maui. Skip it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Fresh sushi with fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was one of our favorite dinners during our ten nights in Hawaii. My husband and I are not huge sushi fans as we are extremely picky about the taste of fish. At Sansei we did not have worry. All of the fish was so fresh and delicious. We were able to sit at the sushi bar which added to our overall experience. The sushi chef was very friendly and willing to make a customized roll based on our favorite fish and ingredients. Also, our server kept our drinks full and was also available if we needed anything. I HIGHLY recommend Sansei Seafood!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bevelry hills
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Sushi on Maui”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Delicious food and great service. Downside is it gets busy and the wait can be long. They do not have a large bar so many people have to wait outside *no drinks allowed outside :( BUT they do take reservations if you think in advance.
We had Sunny as a server and he was right on in helping us order the best and right amount of food. He clearly loves his job and meeting people. Super friendly.
The sushi is FRESH. We had tuna that was caught at 1230 in the afternoon and at if for dinner at 8pm that night! WOW, right?
They have 2 or 3 locations but I've only been to the one on office in Kapaluua and it rocks. I've been there 3 times. THUMBS UP!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“food was excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We ordered a combination of raw and cooked dishes and everything we delicious. It would be best to have a reservation.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.