We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi! No buts. Beware of whiners.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar

Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar
600 Office Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
808-669-6286
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 239 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Sushi, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
San Francisco, California, Usa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Sushi! No buts. Beware of whiners.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

The Sushi was great and, i think, a good value. Really delicious and a good mix of the familiar to somewhat more innovative Not just rolls but mains and all sorts of other types of plating. We pretty much stuck to apps and sushi (rolls and nigiri) I think we spent $100 for the 2 of us but i assure you we went all out and ordered to our hearts content (we left uber full) and split a dessert too so you decide. I wish this place was in San Francisco. But if it were it would be packed every nite and i think that's saying something. Which brings me to the whiners about this place. First of all it's up in Kapalua which is a little off the beaten path. This is a good thing. But like with ALL restaurants on Maui these days they offer deals and discounts to court locals and tourists to fill the off hours. So if you get there early with all the other locals doing the discount thing it's gonna be packed and you're gonna wait for the 2 rolls you ordered and you won't even get the discount cause you're not a local. Sushi's hand made and even if you have 3 or 4 guys rollin, with 100 orders to fill right at the opening do the math. Same thing potentially in the eve. when the discount for everyone is in effect. I like a deal as much, if not more so than anyone else but do your home work, know what season you're in and and exactly what the "DEAL" is cause the times and who they 're geared too are all over the place and it may not be worth the effort. But whatever you do GO! It's great!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    692
    260
    104
    46
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Staff leave you with a bad taste in your mouth”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The food here is 4-5 stars, depending on what you get, but dealing with the staff is more on the 1-2 star side. They are very fussy, with different hours and rules (heavy emphasis on the rules) for different days, and are very "full" of themselves (think "exclusive club"). And it is not just the phone calls and from the hosts/hostesses. Our waiter was a real douzy, making the whole experience phrenetic and stressful. It is a good thing our group took it all with a sense of humor and laughed and rolled eyes, as opposed to blowing up after all we had to deal with (the entire time) in order to eat a meal at this place. One member in our party wanted to order take out later in the trip, and of course, more rules! Only at a certain time, call back in a hour - but when she called back, they changed the rules - it would be another hour before she could order take out. That was the last straw for her, she ended up eating elsewhere. All that being said, we thought the eggplant and butterfish were both really delicious dishes. We thought the sushi was good, but not anything special. Ahi tataki is one of our favorite dishes, but here it was just OK. The place is small and prices high, so plan accordingly.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Excellent food and service. Very affordable meal if eating sushi. Butterfry roll and sansei special roll are delicious.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food, stiff rules...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We made reservations 2 weeks in advance--before we left for Maui--because we had a group of 10 and wanted to take advantage of the early bird discount, which runs from 5:30 to 6:30. Warning: Sansei will not seat you until every member of your party is present. One of our couples was 15 minutes late. This meant we were all rushed and pressured to choose our meals (even desserts) before the magic 6 o'clock hour. If orders aren't placed by then, you lose the discount. Meals were very good, but the rushing part made us uncomfortable. Later that week we tried to phone in a take-out order for sushi but we were told they don't fill orders until after 6:30. When we called again at that time, we were told there was another hour wait. By that point, we decided not to give our business to Sansei. There are so many friendlier, more accommodating places to eat.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Sushi - Period!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Hands down the best sushi we have ever eaten. The Rainbow Roll is fabulous and so much better than any Rainbow Roll I have had anywhere. We love to sit at the Sushi Bar and visit with the chef. great great food!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.