We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Cane Maui

Sugar Cane Maui
736 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
+1 808-214-6662
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sugar Cane Maui is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #79 of 238 Restaurants in Lahaina
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Lahainaluna
Description: Serving Breakfast, lunch and dinner and late night PuPu's~ And while your there, enjoy a heavenly cup of Island- Blend French Press Coffee, one of their Signature Drinks or an icy cold Long Board Draft, on the gorgeous lanai overlooking the harbor....
Kelowna, British Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We actually received a coupon for a free appetizer and since we like to try new places, we decided to go for Happy Hour. Our group loved the Lobster Fondue (free appie) so much, we ordered a second one. We did order other applies ... All very good and well- priced!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    35
    14
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“HOW did this place get 4 + stars...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had a terrible experience and wished we had trusted our judgement and left when we received no attention for the first 15 minutes after our arrival. It got worse. Service was slow and inattentive. Nice, but that isn't my first concern when trying to eat and drink with small kids. We were there for a late lunch at 1:30pm. It was half full and it still took us nearly 2 hours to get in and out.

The food was mediocre at best. Mixed drinks were awful. Best part of the meal was the view of water and the surfing video that kept my 7 year old entertained while we waited endlessly. Also note that the outdoor seating is VERY limited. Only 4 tables seating 2 each.

Too many other good restaurants to choose from on Maui. This one needs a rating adjustment.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winmalee
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Highly recommend Sugar Cane for quality of food, service and view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Walked the length of Front Street to decide where to dine and settled on Sugar Cane for no other reason than it's location and the great view from first floor balcony. The food and service matched the ambience of the setting. Wife and I selected the share platter $60-00 each and were not disappointed. Food was outstanding and plentiful. Had to take the desert home as we simply weren't able to fit it in so to speak.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Been to Lahaina many times and took a gamble on this place. We cautiously walked up the stairs to the second floor location and took a seat on the balcony overlooking the water and all the tourist activity on the street below. Didn't realize the place was just a few months old which is why we'd not seen it on other trips.
Followed the server recommendations: Seafood Nachos for me and a Chicken, Lettuce wrap for my wife. Both were unique and delightful. The nachos had seared ahi over lettuce and fried wontons with a wonderful sauce that was the perfect fit. Serving size was just right, not too big and not too small.
The wraps were delicious, if not a bit messy to eat. But the mess was worth it.
View, food and service were great. We may try it again for dinner.
It's worth the climb to the second floor.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosevelt, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great clean restaurant on front street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We ate here last night and it was great we got right in and seated at 6pm on Saturday without reservations or waiting. It was cloudy and rainy so we didn't get to enjoy the sunset on the balcony but it was still great to watch the people and the water. Sugar cane maui was clean and the help was very friendly. Would eat here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Cane Maui also viewed

 

Been to Sugar Cane Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Cane Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.