We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality food, some locally sourced, at very reasonable prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloha Mixed Plate

Aloha Mixed Plate
1285 Front St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1723
+1 808-661-3322
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 238 Restaurants in Lahaina
Price range: $7 - $7
Cuisines: Hawaiian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: True "Local" traditional plate lunches. Open air seating on direct Ocean Front. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“High quality food, some locally sourced, at very reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

During our trip on Maui my wife and I sampled many lunch plate establishments and found Aloha Mixed Plate to be the best. The seating is all outside underneath umbrellas, with two distinct areas, one centered around a bar and one that is primarily for eating and closer to the water. All of our food was very good borderline excellent including the salad from local Maui greens, the signature Aloha Mixed Plate, and coconut prawns. Not to go all crunchy granola, but many of the other places in this tier use disposable plates and silverware, which is depressing on Maui, but Aloha Mixed Plate used real plates and cutlery. Prices were right and the staff was very friendly. As a beverage choice, the fruit smoothies were very reasonable compared to some of the other tourist traps nearby.

On another visit, we ate breakfast at Aloha Mixed Plate, and I can report that the breakfast is pretty tip-top as well. The French Toast was exceptional and the omelettes are nearly as good as the vaunted Gazebo up the road. However, Aloha Mixed Plate is both cheaper and doesn't have the sometimes obnoxious wait of the Gazebo.

The one issue is the setting in terms of the weather. If its raining, which is not often, then this might not be the place to go. Similarly, if its really windy, then tables near the water can be uncomfortable as your food my be blown away. Again, the weather is not a problem 99.9% of the time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    764
    686
    256
    115
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beachside dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We ate breakfast here. We sat outside under and umbrella. It took a while for us to get waited on and we had an appointment to be at that morning so I asked the hostess to have our waitress come to our table. I explained to her that we were in a hurry. She took our order and brought our coffee. The breakfast was simple Easy to park also.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great food, our go-to for the entire trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

What was not to love? Good sized menu, plenty of friendly staff, great prices, quick service, tasty dishes!
Loco Moco, the hubby's one and only. I had chow funn, which was a little bland but not bad, terryaki beef was great, and the mixed plate was also quite solid.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun beachside dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

This place is fun if you go after the luau starts next door- you can sit by the beach, listen to the luau music and see the dancers go back and forth. The food is fine and very simple- not overwhelmingly flavorful. Skip the cocktails- basically juice with a splash of alcohol and then you can sit in the beachside seating. They definitely hustle you in and out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cheap, good eats”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We showed up for dinner at around 5pm on a Sunday and were seated immediately. If you want to drink, you have to sit in the designated section, which is the farthest from the beach. Our happy hour Mai tai's were definitely short poured. Hardly any rum, but they were only $3.50. I ordered their tofu stir fry and the upcountry salad - both super good and generously portioned. The place started to get super busy at around 5:30pm. The staff seemed to want to turn over tables quickly. The bill was brought without anyone inquiring if we wanted another drink or some dessert, which we were definitely interested in. We really felt rushed. But the food was worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aloha Mixed Plate also viewed

 

Been to Aloha Mixed Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloha Mixed Plate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.