We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Maui Snorkeling Adventure Circumnavigating Lanai Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaanapali Ocean Adventures

Kaanapali Ocean Adventures
1611 Aa street, P.O.Box 11208, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
+1 808-633-3138
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 118 Outdoor Activities in Lahaina
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our purpose built snorkeling and tours boat 'Sanity' is fast, dry and comfortable. We offer both half and full day trips with equipment fully supplied. On our tours you can expect to see marine life as pristine as it has been for thousands of years. We also offer extreme fun with our Jetboat 'Insane'. Be prepared to get wet with 360 spins, dead-stops, sharp turns and a whole lot more!
Haiku, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Maui Snorkeling Adventure Circumnavigating Lanai Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

3 weeks ago, my daughter and I circumnavigated the Island of Lanai on the “Sanity” boat from Kaanapali Ocean Adventures, previously know as Safare Boat Excursions.
We did 3 Snorkeling stops at a few remote bays on the backside of Lanai. Here’s a short video as we are backing out of one bay and heading towards 5 Sisters and Shark Fin Rock towards Manele Bay were we encountered a persistent pod of Spinner Dolphins. I’ve attached a picure I found last year off Lanai as a dolphin plays with Humpback whale. I highly recommend this Snorkeling Adventure for any couples or families, very stable and best boat for this adventure with bathroom onboard :) ...all food and equipment included with a great Crew! Captain Jeff was Great!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    4
    1
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
“Lanai Boat Trip and Snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We booked a boat tour around Lanai without knowing what to expect. We met Captain Jeff and his deckhand Cord on a hard hulled, sturdy boat (the Sanity) which the company had just purchased. It had a covered area encompassing most of the boat so that we weren't exposed to the sun when we didn't want to be. The boat was comfortable and offered plenty of storage for all of our gear. After we crossed the channel to Lanai, we were shown several shipwrecks. Cord provided us with an interesting history of Lanai and the other Hawaiian Islands. Breakfast and lunch were both good. The snorkeling was spectacular! We stopped in 3 or 4 spots along sunken reefs and saw more beautiful fish than we've seen anywhere else. We also were fortunate to have dolphins swim right alongside the boat. Our parents (who are nearing 70) came on the trip, and they said it was the highlight of our 2 week stay on Maui. Bring your shades, camera, sunblock and a towel and the rest is provided for you. Cord was a very knowledgeable, personable guide both in and out of the water. Jeff is an outstanding captain and gracious host. I would book is trip again in a heartbeat. The tour is very personalized and they customize it to their guests. We loved it!!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Used to be great - now it is unreliable”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This outfit is under new owners who really have a problem. We did the trip twice with previous owner Captain Dave and loved it - just like Mark W's review described it. This time, it took a lot of effort to simply track them down, and when we called on Saturday to book a Monday trip we were asked i.e. told to come on Wednesday. Then Tuesday eve we were told the trip was off and could we come on Friday. Since we are flying out on Friday, well, no we couldn't. They promised we will get a real deal next time, but I bet they won't be around next time we are in Maui. A great disappointment, since the snorkel spots they used were the best ever.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“THIS IS A DONT MISS. GR8 SNORKEL TRIP AROUND LANAI'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a great trip. We arrived at 7 am and were greated by Capt. Dan on the beach infront Whalers village. We were shuttled to the Sanity with the other passengers. We were served a cont. breakfast and on our way. This trip is an all day trip. We started around Lanai' and stopped at the wrecks on the west side of the island. Then on to our first of THREE snorkel sites. All three sites were great snorkeling and we were the only ones there. No rush, we snorkeled til we were tired. At the second stop, 4 sisters or something like that, was another great spot and we ate lunch there. It was a deli lunch with chips and drinks. They put out a nice spread and we made it ourselves. Our last stop was an emerald blue bay, so beautiful. Stayed there til we were too tired to go one. We headed home and encountered spinner dolphins where Capt. Dan let us hang out there for awhile so we could have photo ops.
The trip back was thrill ride. It is always a thrill ride back from Lanai', so sit in the front, and stand holding onto the back of the seats and you will get such a thrill.
This was a great trip and a dont miss and no rush.
You get to snorkel three beautiful spots on a small boat with no other peeps around.
You get a trip around Lanai' which nobody else does.
Bring your own gear so you know it fits you. If you dont have gear, go to Maui Dive Shop and rent it. There is 7 stores and one right infront of where they board. They have gear, but while your trying it on and looking for gear to fit, everybody is already in the water.
There is a bathroom on the boat, bigggg plus.
There crew was great, very attentive and knowledgable. Sorry I cant remember thieir names, i was told several times, just having a senior moment.
Capt. Dan appoligized for being late back, but sense he doesnt wear a watch, we were on Maui time, which means, "no rush buddha"
Give Dan a call and you too will have an ahh ha moment.
Only bad. If you can avoid parking at Whalers village, do it. They'll rip you for 40 bucks.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaanapali Ocean Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Kaanapali Ocean Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaanapali Ocean Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.