We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great QPR” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ono Tacos

Ono Tacos
910 Honoapiilani Hwy, 910 Honoapiilani Hwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
+1 808-357-3779
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 203 Restaurants in Lahaina
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Description: Good Food. Good Friend. Good Time. If you want to taste the best tacos in maui Come to eat the best mexican food.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great QPR”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is a great little place to stop for a quick, cheap bite. As others have said go when they are busy as the fish will be cooked fresh. Their fish tacos are excellent - for a $3.50 fish taco they are fantastic!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    51
    14
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fresh and Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stopped by before driving up north as we wanted good fish tacos. Arrived shortly after they opened so we had no waiting. Everything was really good and we split a fish taco and a shrimp taco. No shortage on seafood with either one. Beans and rice were okay - not a lot of flavor in those. But the flavors on both tacos were delicious! Lots of choices and if we would have been there longer - would have come back. Not expensive, off the beaten path but worth finding!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fresh food is the star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Ono was recommended by a business associate back home. Said his teenaged kids wanted to go every day. I understand why. It's simply great Mexican street food' cooked on a food cart, served on paper plates. We all had tacos but the burritos looked amazing. My college kids had the bacon wrapped hot dog and raved about it. A condiment bar allows you to customize your taco. We tried the fish, shrimp, steak and pork tacos. Fish was the favorite. We ate in the chairs and set our food on a short wall. Others sat on the stairs and many took the food to go. A great inexpensive and fun Mexican lunch

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ON, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Go when it's busy, for freshly cooked food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We enjoyed Ono Tacos when we had their tacos in April, but on a return trip in October, we went at the wrong time (mid-afternoon). It's best to go when they're busy (e.g. lunchtime) and the food is cooked to order. When we went in mid-afternoon, they reheated previously cooked fish and chicken and it lacked the quality that we had previously enjoyed. It's worth trying and I would go back, but I would ask that they cook it from fresh rather than reheat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loving Ono Tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We have been staying near Ono Tacos for the past week. We ve had Burritos and Tacos. Both delicious. It's awesome to have delicious, fast mexican food close to where we are staying. A hidden gem in Ka'anapali.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ono Tacos also viewed

 

Been to Ono Tacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ono Tacos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.