We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As authentic as it gets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ono Tacos

Ono Tacos
910 Honoapiilani Hwy, 910 Honoapiilani Hwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
+1 808-357-3779
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 203 Restaurants in Lahaina
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Description: Good Food. Good Friend. Good Time. If you want to taste the best tacos in maui Come to eat the best mexican food.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“As authentic as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Ono Taco was recommended by friends, and even though it was a Sunday and we knew it was closed, we we tried to scout out its location, but it was no where to be found. Today we tried again, and their portable sign stood in front of true hole-in-the-wall establishment. We chatted up the owner/cook while he prepared our order. He's a native of Obregon, Mexico and he knows his Sonoran cuisine. We thoroughly enjoyed our fish, shrimp, and pork al pastor tacos and our Sonoa hot dog. Delicious, authentic Mexican street food at ridiculously low prices, especially for this island. We shall definitely be returning before heading home at week's end. Highly recommend for anyone who appreciates true Mexican food.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    51
    13
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fish Tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just a little hole in the wall next to the ABC store. Try the fish and the shrimp tacos! You will love them!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Banos, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tacos and hotdogs to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Yes, the se tacos were the best on Maui! My husband ordered the Sonora hotdogs and he loved them. I has fish and shrimp tacos they were better than any others I had throughout Maui! The owner was there, very friendly, sat and had great conversation while we ate. Overall a great place, great atmosphere! Will definitely visit again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Shrimp Taco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We've eaten at a few of the fish taco stands on Maui, and this one is by far the best. True to mexican style of taco, the double wrapped corn tortillas filled with fish or shrimp or other goodies, and topped with a great sauce make this the taco to beat on Maui. A little hard to find as its just there, next to ABC, but once you find it you keep going back!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great local food, great price!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We read the reviews, had to try it, and wasn't disappointed. It is small, really small, but that doesn't matter. The shrimp and fish tacos were great. Can't beat the price. Give it a try!!! We even saw some slow down in their car and yell their order to them which is great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ono Tacos also viewed

 

Been to Ono Tacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ono Tacos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.