We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed this time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Basil Tomatoes Italian Grille - CLOSED

Basil Tomatoes Italian Grille
2780 Kekaa Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1971
808-662-3210
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Resort trolley drop off and pick up directly in front
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Disappointed this time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have been coming to this restaurant the last five years. This last time may be our last ... Ever. It was overpriced and so not worth it. My husband ordered a seafood dish and was up all night sick. My pasta dish was just okay. The portion size was okay.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    74
    30
    23
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ferrara, Italy
1 review
“It been a long long time sinze I have eaten such bad food!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I m Italian from Italy and its a shame to call this italian food. I m embrassed to know that are serving such a bad food. The bread was not cooked, the salad was mushy and pre-made with dressing, the penne pasta was so over cooked that each penna was bigger than my fingher and I have big hands, there are not words to descrive the meatballs.... If I were to list everything that I did not like,s I ll miss my plane home.....in 3 days !!!! The prices...... they charge 5 stars prices with the quality of a 0 star restaurant. If there was I negative star rating that would be more helpful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Hmm where should I start? We made a reservation at our hotel which was nice but that is where it ends. When we got there we were seated right away and as soon as I sat down I noticed the wet water glasses on our table, the waiter came by, took our order and poured our water, when I went to take a drink of my water I noticed a lipstick print clear as day and from that moment on I was completely grossed out!!! The only reason we didn’t walk out was because we were starved. So I called the waiter over and told him about the lips on my glass, he bought over a clean one but for some reason left the dirty one at our table!! Why?!! I don’t know …. He passed our table several times and finally we had to get his attention to take the glass away. The food was okay, but for the money it should have been much better. Needless to say we will never eat here again!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My only regret is that we didn't find this restaurant earlier in our stay. It's tucked away on the edge of the 5th green of the North Ka'anapali Golf Course. Excellent Italian fare, great service and very reasonable prices. I was served the second largest lamb shank I've ever seen and it was fantastic! Reservations are highly recommended as this place is a favourite with both locals and tourists.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Magnificent view and great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is one of our favourite restaurants in Lahaina .My husband and I go there every time we go to Maui...for the fabulous view ,great service and my favourite the lamb shanks and his the wonderful fish of the day preparation
This is a great place to have a wonderful quiet delicious meal in a very romantic setting.
Mahalo!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil Tomatoes Italian Grille also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basil Tomatoes Italian Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.