We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, better drinks, great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castaway Cafe

Castaway Cafe
45 Kai Ala Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9420
(808) 661-9091
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 239 Restaurants in Lahaina
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food, better drinks, great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

We frequented this restaurant a lot on our vacation as it was in our resort. Staff extremely friendly( buddy is awesome). Food was great. Try to get their rib special on Sunday. I have never seen meatier ribs. Delicious. Their paradise pancakes for breakfast are heaven on a plate. Drinks are cheaper here than all other resorts. Bottles of beer average $4/5 and cocktails are never above 10. They also do a happy hour every day. Owner seems to be a lovely lady. Huge wine selection and good specials each day. Definitely worth checking out

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    130
    67
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Decent Food, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Good food at fair prices. Cafe is right on the beach with an open patio just above the sand. Great spot to have coffee and start the day without breaking the bank!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Slow service, unfriendly staff, bad food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I gave this place 3 tries since it was on the property of the condo we rented. Each time the service was slow, the staff was unfriendly. FIsh tacos were soggy and couldn't even be picked up. Don't waste time here unless it's a last resort. Good view; however, there's so many beachfront dining restaurants.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Excellent breakfast. Very pleasant service. And you certainly cannot beat the view. Highly recommend this little place if you want to get away from the crowds. Oh yeah, the hash browns are the best.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Casual little beach front cafe, good food and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Just a short walk up the beach from the Royal Lahaina Resort is this nice, casual beach bar/cafe. It's a great place to grab a drink or lunch if you are snorkeling the reef, or just beaching. There seems to be a nice mix of locals and tourists. Friendly staff, good food, reasonably priced. I have eaten breakfast, lunch and 'happy hour" bar menu and was pleased with all. They advertise some dinner specials (prime rib, pasta, BBQ nights) and have a regular dinner service as well, but I haven't tried dinner. Nice little find right off the beach. Would recommend for break from the sun, cold drink or casual meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castaway Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Castaway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castaway Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.