We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yumm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castaway Cafe

Castaway Cafe
45 Kai Ala Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9420
(808) 661-9091
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 238 Restaurants in Lahaina
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Yumm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This little restaurant on the property of Ka'anapali Villas has great food! It's right on the ocean, so there's great views too! We ate their a couple times and enjoyed both meals.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    130
    67
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Olympia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We ate here numerous times (breakfast and dinner) and thoroughly enjoyed the food, staff and view. Good menu selection. Reasonable prices. Bar on premises. Owner/manager checks with customers on a regular basis to make sure they are satisfied. Staff is very attentive and personable.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Returned Again and Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

During our two week stay at Maui Kaanapali Villas we enjoyed numerous meals at this warm, friendly, oceanfront restaurant. The first morning of our stay, while delighting in our macadamia nut pancakes with coconut syrup, we spotted whales spouting. I thougth, it just can't get any better than this!

And then it was rib night! They serve a huge portion of fall off the bone tender ribs accompanied by rice, vegtables, slaw, and basket of fresh sourdough bread. Rib night is so successful you had better get there early. Soooo good! We also enjoyed prime rib night and the fish tacos are fantastic! Pricing is extremely reasonable for the amout of food served.

Happy hour around the bar is convivial with many regulars in attendance. There are numerous drink specials - $4.00 pints and mixed drinks $1.00 off and the wine list is extensive. All of the bartenders are wonderful, but we expecially enjoyed Barry's repartee. So much fun!

While in Maui we tried numerous off property restaurants. However, our most memorable evenings were spent a the Castaway Cafe. We just kept returning again and again, and look forward to more of the same March of next year.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Good breakfast. Tough veal and so-so fish for dinner. They could do better. Watched whales. Nice staff.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We walk along Kaanapali beach in front of the hotels, and on the other side of black rock, past the golf course and Royal Lahiana Hotel you will find the Castaway Cafe, on the grounds of the Aston Maui hotel. It's right at the beach with outdoor seating for a few. Breakfast is good, and service is friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castaway Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Castaway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castaway Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.