We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and authentic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Tacos Napili

Maui Tacos Napili
5095 Napilihau Street, Ste 101, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8801 (Formerly Maui Tacos Napilihau St)
+1 808-665-0222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #134 of 238 Restaurants in Lahaina
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Vegetarian, Healthy, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Description: At Maui's Tacos, we've taken the best flavors of Mexico and fused them with the flavors of Aloha! A favorite for locals and tourists alike, Maui's Tacos serves Mexican cuisine with a Hawaiian twist. Join us for our famous fish tacos and our salsa bar.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Very good and authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stopped here by accident. It was really authenitc and the food was fantastic. I got the fish taco and enchalada plate. It is only a eat outside place and very casual but, so worth stopping by for a quick, cheap and ono lunch.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    79
    42
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Oregon
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Goos fast food alternative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We really liked Maui Tacos - no, it's not authentic or the best but it was close to us in Napili and also had a lot of flavor when you used the salsa bar. I would rather spend my money here than at McDonalds or another fast food place at the end of a busy day of boat trips or snorkeling. We stopped here several times and ate the food on the beach. That would make anything taste better!

  • Visited October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Burritos have no flavor, not authentic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I am used to hole in the wall places for good Mexican food, as I go for the food, but the food here was really just OK. We normally get a lot better and authentic burritos. These lacked pretty much any flavor to us. Cilantro Mexican Grill in Lahaina is a much better option for fast food Mexican. I noticed there are 3 other pages on tripadvisor for different Lahaina locations, though Maui Tacos' website only lists one location in Lahaina. Some people are reviewing the Napili location there, and at least one person is reviewing the Lahaina location here. I am not sure if the food could be that different between them, we have only visited the Napili location.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good place for quick and cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Also their menu is almost all gluten free (for those who need this).

This is not glamourous place, but is fast and cheap. I recommend when you just want to get something on the island fast and cheaply.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
“Tasteless, cheap food. My stomach is still sick!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

We had read that Maui Tacos was known for great fish tacos......they were absolutely tasteless; paper has more flavor than this food. Prices are good, but for what? What a bunch of hype; we won't ever return. My stomach was sick minutes after leaving the place and till is upset after 3 hours!!!! YUCK!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui Tacos Napili also viewed

 

Been to Maui Tacos Napili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Tacos Napili, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.