We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast....Who Knew?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moose McGillycuddy's - Maui - CLOSED

Moose McGillycuddy's - Maui
844 Front St, Frnt, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1626
808-667-7758
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night
Bishop, California
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Breakfast....Who Knew?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Have walked by here many times and never realized they serve breakfast. Not crowded and the service was good. I had a basic breakfast and was not disappointed. Depending on where you are seated, you may have a view of Front St. I will be back.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    142
    76
    27
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roosevelt, Utah
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food but dirty place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We ate lunch here as a family and it was ok. The food was great, I had the pork tacos and they were delicious. The spicy creamy sauce they put on them was just what they needed. The kids and other food seemed to be great also. The down side of this place was the cleanliness of everything. The wall decor, ceiling fans, speakers, and menus are just nasty. The ceiling fans just over your head were white (at some time) but come with black fuzzy greasy looking clumps attached to the blades and its a wonder how they stay attached when the fan it turning at full speed. Speakers are the same. I understand it is an open air bar type atmosphere right on front street and some of this is to be expected but this place almost looks like they go the extra mile to fit into the "dive" category. This place is probably a great place for some drinks or game watching for singles or couples at the bar but for a family lunch with kids at lunch time it left a little to be desired for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good Sports Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We didn't go hear to watch a game but we happened to be in Maui during the NFL playoffs and a large crowd gathered to watch the game. Everyone was having a great time. We returned a different night when it was less crowded and had a good meal. Lots of options so it works well for families or people with a lot of different tastes. Service was good, pricing was good. They had decent happy hour options. This is a typical bar/restaurant for a casual meal. Not the best location on Front St since they don't look out on the water- it is across the street from Kimo's which has perfect ocean/sunset views.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great value (One really big chicken!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stopped in at Moose's because my wife really wanted a burger with pineapple. She was not disappoined! The burger was great and came quickly. I ordered the special that night, a half chicken, and couldn't believe how much food it was! The chicken was nothing extraordinary, but really filled me up. If someone has a big appetite and enjoys standard American fare, this is a good place to check out!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food, sports bar atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The food at Moose McGillycuddy's was good & the service was fast. Football on TV & a good sports bar atmosphere. We would eat there again for sure. The prices were also good & not out of line in a tourist area like Front Street is.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moose McGillycuddy's - Maui also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moose McGillycuddy's - Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.