We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leilani's On The Beach

Leilani's On The Beach
2435 Kaanapali Pkwy, Bldg J, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
(808) 661-4495
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Leilani's On The Beach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 203 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $35 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hwy 30
Transit: Maui bus stops right in front Whalers Village every hour!
Description: Located right on famous Ka’anapali Beach, Leilani’s offers the perfect vantage point for viewing amazing sunsets framed by the islands of Lanai and Molokai. The open air dining room offers sweeping ocean views and features a menu of fresh Island fish, seafood, prime rib, steaks,and barbecue ribs. The outdoor Beachside Grill has long been a popular place for both residents and locals to enjoy their favorite casual fare while sipping exotic cocktails and enjoying live entertainment. Menu offerings include appetizers, salads, sandwiches, burgers, Hawaiian local plates, fish & chips and for dessert Kimo’s Original Hula Pie.
Newport, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Nice place right on the beach. I did not have a reservation so we waited about an hour. Not a problem right in Whalers Village so we shopped while we waited. Food, drinks and servers all great.
I would eat there again. Prices were fair.
Have fun and enjoy your time on Maui

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,076
    830
    304
    99
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fresh fish, great sunset, better Mai Tais”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We frequent this restaurant every trip to Ka'anapali. Located in Whaler's Village it is popular for sunset due to beautiful view right on the water. Their Mai Tais are some of the best we've had. Their fresh fish specials are truly fresh with creative blending of flavors and unique sides. The mushroom ravioli starter, while not Hawaiian or seafood, was outstanding! Try the scallops starter as well. Just delightful. Good food good service and a great view.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Decent Food, Great Lava Flows, Slow Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband, mother, and I went to Leilani's on the Beach for lunch on Christmas Day. They were pretty busy, but the wait was not too bad since we could look into the surrounding shops while the hostesses were getting to us on the list. Once we were seated, the waiter approached us to get our drink orders. After our drinks came (they took a little while), the waiter came back to take our food order. My mother had a question about something on the menu, and it seemed like he was in a hurry because he kind of became a little agitated that we didn't order immediately. My mother ordered, but I'm not sure he fully understood, because he then told her he would be back and that she would have more time to decide. After that, he was gone for quite a while. When our server came back, we finally ordered. I had the fish tacos. Again, our food took a while to come out. Once we got our food, I wasn't super impressed with my fish tacos. They were a little on the dry side and didn't live up to the "Best Rated Tacos" claim, but they were edible. I did, however, thoroughly enjoy the lava flow drink I had. Again, getting the check took a while and our waiter was not overly friendly, until he found out he was able to go home after he finished with all his tables. To be fair, it was Christmas day, but if I were working on Christmas, I would be more likely to be friendly than not so my tips didn't suffer because of my poor attitude.

Overall, it wasn't a bad experience, especially for a busy restaurant on Christmas day.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great ocean front dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We always enjoy Leilani's whether it's for a quick bite to eat or a drink. We usually go at least twice while staying in Lahaina. Their fish tacos were delicious and the drinks are average but the view makes up for this. The happy hour food is okay but not spectacular. I would recommend going once and then decide from there if you will go back.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, food is just ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I wanted to like Leilani's more but the food didn't wow me. Our entrees came out awkwardly soon (like before our drinks arrived). The restaurant is very hectic and they really try to turn over tables quickly!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leilani's On The Beach also viewed

 

Been to Leilani's On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leilani's On The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.