We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nachos Grande

Nachos Grande
3350 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8402
(808) 662-0890
Improve this listing
Ranked #136 of 203 Restaurants in Lahaina
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
West Jordan, Utah
1 review
“Never again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

They were out of chicken, out of beef, no silverwear. Sub par food, sub par portions for the price. They did give us a discount for the inconvenience

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    9
    6
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Staying at Honua Kai Resort and Spa, we walked 5 mins to the Times supermarket and spotted this restaurant in the parking lot. The restaurant joins a sports bar and as we love Mexican food we decided to check out the menu. The new owner is great - the meals were really tasty, a good size and value for money. We enquired about chili rellenos - and although they were not on the menu, the owner said if we came the following night, she would make them especially for us. We did, and they were great! Don't be put off by the external appearance - inside this place is a treasure.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pretty good for a quick bite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stopped in earlier today for a quick snack for a late lunch. Ordered a couple chicken tacos, a quesadilla, and the chips and salsa. The chips and salsa were ok, the quesadilla was pretty good and we thought the tacos were pretty good and actually better than some tacos we get back home in Arizona. The service was quite good and friendly. We sat in the bar area and enjoyed a couple cold beers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“One of our best meals on Maui! Fresh,flavorful,friendly and NO GREASE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Mexican is without a doubt our favorite type of food. Being from Arizona, and doing most of our vacationing and outings in the southwest and Mexico, we are quite familiar with this genre of food. We stopped in Nachos Grande after our wedding ceremony and rolled the dice on a few tacos and a burrito. HOLY COW!! It was awesome!! Every ingredient was fresh and the favors were just right. You could tell each meal was cooked with care. Even the side of rice and beans was awesome. Normally in the later hours you wind up with hard rice and dried out retried beans with pools of grease on it, but not here. The 2 gentlemen working were so friendly and you could tell were truly excited about the food they are serving and cooking. They informed us that the restaurant is being run by a new team, Trinity and David, and they are constantly coming up with new flavor combinations and menu ideas. Keep up the good work guys and don't lose that passion! We will definitely be back before we leave Maui. Will be spreading the word about you on the mainland! Mahalo!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“New Management of Kitchen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

What a difference in quality of the food, we go to Nachos often but usually only to the bar, but on Super Bowl Sunday we were told that the kitchen were now being managed by Trinity and David and we should try the food. Wow they were right, I had the Beef Burrito and my wife had the Beef Nachos the food was excellent, we had just came back from a vacation in Mexico and the meal we had at Nachos was just as good as what we had been eating in Cabo San Lucas. The menu is small a page of Appetizers and one of Entree's but all are $10.00 or less. I also had the Cheese Crisp with Salsa during the game and they were really good as well. Nachos has been in the area a long time and the bar has always been fun but now the food is very good as well. They also have daily specials like Taco Tuesday were Taco's are only $2.00 Each. If you have not eaten there since first of the year it is time to give it another try.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nachos Grande also viewed

 

Been to Nachos Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nachos Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.