We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why ? Food is Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lahaina Grill

Lahaina Grill
127 Lahainaluna Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1502
+1 808-667-5117
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lahaina Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 238 Restaurants in Lahaina
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Front Street
Description: Open nightly from 5:30pm. Voted Best Maui Restaurant for 21 years in a row! Featuring innovative, New American cuisine, Lahaina Grill uses techniques and flavors from around the world, all perfectly blended with the freshest ingredients cultivatedby Maui's local farms, dairies and surrounding waters.
Billings, Montana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Why ? Food is Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I would have to say that if I had looked over the menu, and looked at the prices, I would have said it was entirely too expense. That being said; the only reason my wife and I went is because we had a very thoughtful gift certificate bestowed upon us and it was our honeymoon. The service is outstanding and the wait staff handles themselves incredibly well from knowledge of the menu, to the actual service. The food was out of this world. My wife had a fish dish that was served with Rice. She asked the waitress about it, and she described it perfectly, it was spicy and sweet. Saying that does not begin to do this dish justice though. It was something we had not tasted before and fantastic. I had the filet which was cooked to perfection. They took our picture and emailed it to us the next day. They pay attention to details and do it right.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,189
    248
    86
    42
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This restaurant is special. It has no view, no outdoor seating and expensive. Why go? Because the food is outstanding and so is the service. Everyone person who walked out of the restaurant was smiling. We had a problem with a parking lot and staff members went out of their way to help. It was a highlight of our trip and cannot stop raving about it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

I made the reservation for a special 50th wedding anniversary before leaving the mainland. We knew it was expensive, but the food, service, and attention to our special day made it worth every single dollar spent! Our food was delicious, but the fact that they took our picture and emailed it the next day, acknowledged our occasion with a card signed by the staff and had several staff members stop by the table to offer congratulations made it truly an anniversary unlike any others. I can't remember ever being treated that special at a restaurant. Thanks to each and every one of them!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Our Favorite - Do Reserve Ahead”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We heard lots of praise on this restaurant and Enjoyed dinner here twice during our vacation. Amazing Flavorful food quality, consistent great service and honest insight on menu selections by servers. We enjoy fine dining and have decent experience...Price is aligned with food quality. Loved the scallop & corn relish dish and One of the best filets ever had. Must have the triple berry pie dessert. Haven't had pie until you experience this...amazing fresh berries & crust! Make a reservation in advance. This place is worthy and popular!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good taste, but much better values elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Second time here for us. The prices have just gotten out of hand. The two of us, with a modest bottle of wine was $305. It is at least $100 over value received, if not more. No view whatsoever, by the way...Mike C is incorrect about being right on the water. This is one block off the water, facing Lahainaluna street; no view, no whales.

But the main issue for us are the prices; there are better, high quality options.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lahaina Grill also viewed

 

Been to Lahaina Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lahaina Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.