We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food... Service not so Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific'O Restaurant

Pacific'O Restaurant
505 Front Street Ste 114, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1172
8086674341
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pacific'O Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 238 Restaurants in Lahaina
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Hawaiian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Shaw Street
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Food... Service not so Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We found this restaurant in one of the Maui/Lahaina dining guides and were really captured by the farm to table cuisine they were offering so we booked to go there for dinner. It was a little hard to find, we walked through all the main busy part of Front Street and then onto the quieter side.
The restaurant is located in what seems to be a very quite shopping area, we thought we were in the wrong place but eventually found it. Greeting by staff when we entered was somewhat cold not overly friendly. We were shown to our table with a lovely view of the ocean but there was a hedge in the way, but we had we had a good view of the sunset. Food was excellent and really well made, however they do need to work on their service as I was expecting better at the price we paid for the whole evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    130
    82
    50
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Foresthill, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The worst”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My Wife and I went here, wishing to try a new place. We visit Maui 1-2 times a year, so have been around. No one to greet at the entrance, just a sign to seat yourself, which is OK. Bus boy fills water. 10 minutes go by, he calls from halfway down the restaurant, "Menus"? Um, yes, that would be good. 10-15 minutes later, Dude with shades and in a hurry, asks if we need a beverage. I asked him if he was the Server....didn't seem right. He said they were short staffed and he was the bartender. OK, trying to help. He was tending bar, medium busy, trying to help tables, not at all busy. Took our order. My wife watched 3 other tables get bread, drink refills, etc. We got ignored. Simple Salad was 13 bucks. Hamburger was 15. 35 minutes later, I was done and began to walk out.
The bartender looks at us, like he was astonished, and said "your food is coming out"!! We went back, food hits the table, no bread, no refills, etc.
I would advise this place if EVERY other restaurant on the Island burned down last night. And only then.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were disappointed since heard such good things about the restaurant, so maybe they were having an off night. However, the service was great, friendly and attentive. On the other hand, the 4 course prix fixe with wine pairings, was just okay. The first course was good (Ahi), the salad was average, the filet mignon with foie gras was fair, and the chocolate mousse for dessert was okay. Most dishes were way over seasoned. One nice touch was a pretty card congratulating us on our anniversary, which we noticed were on quite a few tables, so lots of celebrations. Sitting on patio, we could hear and see a little of the luau next door, Feast at Lele, so that was fun. (We had attended Lele a few years ago, and it's an excellent luau). Pacific-O has a nice view of the ocean and Lanai, but it's looking over the hedge.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location, service and food - what a sunset!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I celebrated our 21 anniversary here. I picked this restaurant more for location and less for the food since the most criticism of this place seemed to be about the food. We would not call ourselves "foodies", but we both really enjoyed the food. Both of us had fish - mine was a mild local fish (forget the name) with a really good sesame and ginger sauce. The wife had seafood ravioli. I had a bite and thought it was good but liked mine better and she said she liked hers better after tasting mine.

The place treated us special, wishing us happy anniversary upon arrival and then having an anniversary card on the table. At the end of the meal, the waiter brought us a small but delicious dessert on the house - a nice touch.

The location did not disappoint. Absolutely beautiful sunset just feet from the beach!!

I would definitely return if I ever make it back to Hawaii.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo Department, Uruguay
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A gem by the sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

After 9 days in Maui, Pacific'O provided a nice break away from the main crowds (yes this is on Front street, but several blocks from the middle of everything). We booked a reservation a week out via OpenTable and had a great table waiting nearest the water. The restaurant is nicely decorated with a more enclosed area, followed by a covered outdoor area, and a patio which is recommended. The drinks were good (wife had her favorite version of the Lava Flow here), and the appetizer (belly up) was outstanding (it was a fried pork belly served on top of a ginger soy sauce with chinese vegetables). The main was ok but my wife's pasta was drowning in oil and many of the noodles were not cooked correctly (stuck together and hard).

Overall, the waitress was nice and accommodating, the location beautiful, the food was good but not spectacular. Additionally, while eating dinner, the Feast at Lele (Luau) which is located is getting set up. You get a bit of a behind-the-scenes show as you see the performers warming up.

The only thing I didn't like here was the location of the restaurant, which is located in a shopping center several blocks away from the main area on front street. This is nice because you don't have all of the traffic/crowd, you have to walk through some "less stellar" parts of the strip that has vagrants and lacks street lighting. Drive and park directly in front of the shopping area, or go during daylight hours.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific'O Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pacific'O Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific'O Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.