We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like Prime Rib, the large cut is plenty for two.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kimo's Restaurant

Kimo's Restaurant
845 Front St, Ste a, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
(808) 661-4811
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kimo's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 239 Restaurants in Lahaina
Price range: $7 - $34
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Papalaua Street and Wahie Lane
Description: Right on the water and in the heart of historic Lahaina, Kimo’s brings you and your o’hana (Hawaiian for family) a casual, completely Maui dining experience. Renowned our “postcard” views of Lanai and Molokai, we offer a menu featuring fresh Hawaiian fish, prime rib, prime steaks and the original Hula Pie, Kimo’s has been a Maui must-do for over 30 years. The upstairs main dining room shows the architectural influence of New England on the former whaling port, with koa-lined walls, missionary-style furnishings and maritime memorabilia. After dinner, Kimo’s lanai becomes a very cool hotspot for tropical cocktails and Hawaiian music. Live entertainment is offered on weekends and select week nights.
Shawnigan Lake
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If you like Prime Rib, the large cut is plenty for two.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The view at sunset is beautiful, live Hawaiian music, but be prepared to wait unless you have a reservation.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,990 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,002
    653
    232
    63
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My favorite place that we ate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I'm not a huge fan of seafood, but the fish was so fresh and delicious. And you HAVE to get the Hula pie, but definitely plan to share! Service was friendly and the view was nice. I think dinner starts at 5:00 and if you get there by 5:30 you don't need a reservation (perfect for those of us stuck on east coast time). The menu lists side items separately so we thought it was a la carte, but there are side items served with the entrees: vegetables and rice, or substitute mashed potatoes like I did. We also tried the vegetable and goat cheese dip as an appetizer. It was like a sweet and tangy salsa eaten on flatbread with some goat cheese...very fresh and good. Wish I was there right now!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

The service was great. Our table had the prime rib and seared ahi tuna! If you live sashimi it was excellent! My mom had her prime rib medium and my husband did medium well which they grill Texas style! Both tasted amazing! And of course you can't come here without getting the hula pie! It's a must! Overall wonderful evening and beautiful view off Front St!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranesville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD! GREAT LOCATION!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We visited Lahaina to go shopping. We caught the bus from Whalers Village.....as we were shopping we asked a local shop clerk where she eats. She immediately directed us to Kimo's as that is where she eats. So...trusting her we ventured down Front Street to find it.
The restaurant has a great view and a deck to sit on to eat. It is so nice to watch the ocean while eating! When the sun it out, make sure you get a table with an umbrella (I think there is one without right in the corner by the deck).
I ordered the Fish N Chips.......WOW.........I think they were the best I have ever eaten! The fish was a local catch and not frozen and shipped in. The beer batter was fantastic! Prices were very reasonable....

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Surprise - in a very tourist looking place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Considering this is prime street location in Lahaina we did not expect to be impressed with food and just needed something to eat for the dinner. Atmosphere in the place did raise our suspicions as design and building are old and you have typical vibe of place that would offer you bunch of burgers and some fried food. the end result was a shocker, Ocean view is great, our server was very local and relaxed, and the food was terrific. First of all - most of the places kill Mahi Mahi by overcooking or putting sauces on it that kill the taste of fish, and probably use frozen fish to begin with, not this place, perfectly cooked, soft and tender, with a great simple garlic lemon flavor, like it was done somewhere in Mediterranean, perfect. The rest of the dishes were equally great, perfect sushimi, shrimps and I think I had some octopus that was perfectly cooked. Definitely a gem to visit, the key is stay with fish, as this place s worth every dollar you spent. Total surprise, as we have been generally disappointed with most of the places in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kimo's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kimo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kimo's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.