We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, carpets need replacement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kimo's Restaurant

Kimo's Restaurant
845 Front St, Ste a, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
(808) 661-4811
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kimo's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 203 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $34
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Papalaua Street and Wahie Lane
Description: Right on the water and in the heart of historic Lahaina, Kimo’s brings you and your o’hana (Hawaiian for family) a casual, completely Maui dining experience. Renowned our “postcard” views of Lanai and Molokai, we offer a menu featuring fresh Hawaiian fish, prime rib, prime steaks and the original Hula Pie, Kimo’s has been a Maui must-do for over 30 years. The upstairs main dining room shows the architectural influence of New England on the former whaling port, with koa-lined walls, missionary-style furnishings and maritime memorabilia. After dinner, Kimo’s lanai becomes a very cool hotspot for tropical cocktails and Hawaiian music. Live entertainment is offered on weekends and select week nights.
canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food, carpets need replacement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Striped swordfish was well cooked. Carpets look nasty? Hula pie was very food. They brought the kids meals out first which was excellent. Quicker than a lot of fast food joints. A little pressure to order drinks even with kids there. Very busy but no wait hardly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,187
    763
    263
    71
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Prime Rib....... Oooh Baby!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Really,really liked the Prime Rib!! My buddy and I both thought it was one of the best ever! Service was good, drinks were good and atmosphere was average. Prices are not cheap, but fair.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Slow service, very loud, food ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We were disappointed with our dinner at Kimo's. The service was verrrrry slow, the restaurant was very loud and the food was just ok -the fish was very good, but steaks were overcooked, mashed potatoes were very salty. I have been to all the 'sister' T&S Restaurants (Hula Grill, Leilani's, Duke's) and would rate this the lowest among them. For the price you pay, you have many better choices.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great view, good but not great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Make an early reservation to reserve a harbor table. It's worth it. The Onaga in garlic butter was excellent; the Ahi was so-so. Drink service was acceptable but waiter service was disappointing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We ate at Kimo's on a very busy night. With a large party of 8 and no reservation, we didn't expect to be seated right away, but were able to sit at the bar and have a drink before being seated within an hour. The upstairs dining room is a little rustic, but food was good and service was excellent. If you can, we'd recommend the Opaka paka. We almost all had fish and did not regret it. Kimo's is affiliated with Duke's and a few others in the Lahaina area- for a small chain, we were impressed. The menu was similar to the other restaurants though, especially the different presentations of fish. The only negative comment I have was that our appetizer was really small (shrimp cocktail- only 5 pieces of shrimp, though tons of cocktail sauce?).

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kimo's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kimo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kimo's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.