We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hawaiian Music” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slack Key Show

Slack Key Show
5900 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Napili Kai Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI
+1 808-669-3858
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 64 Attractions in Lahaina
Type: Performances
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Slack Key Show takes place on Wednesday and Thursday nights at 7:30 p.M. With master slack-key guitarist George Kahumoku Jr. As host. Da Ukulele Boyz co-host. Each week we feature renowned slack-key guitarists and other Hawaiian musicians (sometimes ukulele, falsetto, or steel guitarists) to share traditional Hawaiian Music with you. Mahalo and hope we will see you at the show!
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Hawaiian Music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Saw this show at our resort and was very impressed. We even bought 5 CD's before we left. This show is what Maui is all about...We'll be back

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    28
    12
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We ate at the Sea House and went to the show, the musicians were talented. We plan to go back again on our next visit

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Come experience some of Hawaii's best entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

What more can I say – If you are looking for authentic Hawaiian entertainment you absolutely must include a Wed. night show listening to George Kahumoko and whichever guest musician he has playing when you go. If you have never experienced slack-key guitar you are in for a real treat hearing Uncle George play and tell stories about his Hawaiian life.

This was our 2nd time going to the show. Along with George and his regular crew, Da Ukelele Boyz & Sterling Seaton, George’s guest was Brother Noland who played his unique slack key variations on his bright blue electric guitar. The entire show was great. George’s storytelling makes each song come to life. As a bonus, beautiful Hula dancing accompanies many of the songs and after the intermission, all of the musicians jam together for the 2nd part of the show. Altogether this makes for a truly enjoyable evening.

The event is held at the Napil Kai resort, and if you book early you can combine this with a very tasty discounted dinner at the beachside Sea House restaurant which we did last year. With our last-minute planning we missed that opportunity so we instead opted to drive to the nearby Maui Brewing Company for an early dinner and to sample some of their numerous varieties of fine beer.

If you want to learn more about George’s show and slack key in general, they have posted many great video clips on youTube, or better yet look for the newly released PBS documentary titled “George Kahumoku Jr. – Seeds of Aloha” which is also available along with many of his CD’s for purchase at the show.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Wonderful musicians, great evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Masterful guitar and vocals. I am sure that this has been highly rated by many people and definitely wanted to add my praise of the entire presentation!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“This is da best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Make plans to attend a show, you won't be disappointed. We attend at least once each time we're here (every year). Last night's jam session during the second half of the show was probably the best we've seen and heard. George and the other "masters" have been nurturing the next generation and it showed. Love Da Ukulele Boyz. Sterling Sexton is awesome. Enjoyed David Kamakahi. But, we LOVED when George and the boys all jammed for 40 minutes. George's wife and another dancer also provided Hula for a couple of songs.
We usually just go when the doors open at 7pm and get tickets ($39.99+tax. Online you have to pay a service fee + tax). There is ice water and POG provided free.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slack Key Show also viewed

 

Been to Slack Key Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slack Key Show, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.