We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Show” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slack Key Show

Slack Key Show
5900 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Napili Kai Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI
+1 808-669-3858
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 165 Activities in Lahaina
Type: Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Slack Key Show takes place on Wednesday and Thursday nights at 7:30 p.M. With master slack-key guitarist George Kahumoku Jr. As host. Da Ukulele Boyz co-host. Each week we feature renowned slack-key guitarists and other Hawaiian musicians (sometimes ukulele, falsetto, or steel guitarists) to share traditional Hawaiian Music with you. Mahalo and hope we will see you at the show!
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Was looking forward to this show and it didn't dissapoint! George Kahukomo,the host of the show,was playing a warm up set when we arrived. He had just come off a 23 show,23 day tour of the mainland and had a cold and one of Da Ukulele Boyz was sick,but dispite this it was an excellent show. We enjoyed the stories between songs and the hula dancing.The steel guitar sounds of the featured artist Bobby Igano were great,too. It was very easy to see that this a family affair and they truly love the music they preform as well as preforming together.We bought some music to bring home and to remind us of this great show. If you are interested in traditional Hawaiian music,don't miss this show.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    32
    15
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful local & visiting Slack key /Hawaiian music artisits.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

You haven't heard real island music until you've been to one of George's shows. Has a bit of everything. Casual roof covered outdoor pavillion. Gentle island breezes blow through adding to a very nice entertainment venue. Seating is first come so be early if you wish to sit in front. You may prepay and reserve in advance, highly recommended. Or take your chances and buy at the door. Very casual, but a must see if you really want to experience true hawaiian entertainment. You never know who might be joining the show so check the schedule ahead of your visit. The show is usually every wed. nite at Napili Kai Resort. If you arrive early stop by the bar or restaurant for food and drinks.



Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Listen to the Hawiian Masters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My wife and I attended a show in February 2013 and really enjoyed ourselves. I play guitar and spent some time learning both the Slack Key style and well as a bit of the Ukelele on this trip. This show is really good because the performers are trying to perpetuate and extend this soothing style of music. They explain the history in general as well as describing what their particular songs are about. The facility is a fairly small covered outdoor site with a raised stage and seating on comfortable individual chairs - all seats have good views, great audio, and space to stretch out and scoot your chair around to please. There is a good restaurant - the Sea House - on the site if you wish to purchase a combined dinner & show ticket. We went to the restaurant bar to relax and enjoy the sunset before the show. The waiter recommended purchasing a dessert to nibble on during the show - turned out to be a great idea because the show is open seating and you need to get there about half an hour ahead of showtime if you want to have early choice of seating. There is live entertainment before the show that is worth while seeing - so arriving early is a good idea!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, CA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Old Time Hawaiiana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We purchased the dinner at the Sa House restaurant and slack key guitar show tickets online in advance. When we arrived for the dinner, I was a bit concerned as they kept us all waiting out in the sun for about 15 minutes saying they were not yet ready to serve. But once we were seated (in the order in which we checked in, so do so), all went smoothly. We were given the earlybird menu from which to choose our meal. We both had the salad which had an interesting sweet spicy dressing. I had the mixed plate, and my husband had the mahi mahi. Both were nicely prepared and served hot. For dessert I had the pineapple tiramisu, and he had ice cream. He was glad to find they had espresso, something many restaurants do not here on Maui.
As to the show, those who commented it was difficult to see from the back were correct. However, the chairs are not fastened down, so it was possible to move them a bit to help. And the comment that the show is a bit like a garage jam session was also on target. The music itself was well done; we especially liked Bobby Ingano's steel guitar pieces. And yes, the rhythms and melodies are somewhat predictable, but anyone listening to radio here would know that in advance. We found the concert to be an interesting presentation of a piece of Hawaiian culture and would recommend it to anyone wanting to know more about the real Hawaii.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“No Slackers at the Slack Key Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was the fist time we attended one of these concerts and it did not disappoint. The program included Herb Ohta Jr and Joh Yamasat along with the regulars. Of the five performers the two of the three vocalists were unable to sing due to illness, but the lack of vocals did not detract from the audience's enjoyment of the program. In fact they played their instruments with just as much zeal and enthusiasm as they would have had they been feeling at the top of their game. It was beeing able to sit in on an almost extemporeous jam session, which made it all the more fun.We had a wonderful time and will go back again the next time we go to Maui.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slack Key Show also viewed

 

Been to Slack Key Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slack Key Show, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.