We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUP in Lahaina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawaiian Paddle Sports

Hawaiian Paddle Sports
626 A Luakini St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96753
+1 808-442-6436
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 164 Activities in Lahaina
Type: Tours, Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Educational and Cultural ocean activities. Hawaiian Outrigger Canoe, Ocean Kayaks, Stand Up Paddleboard and Surfing. The difference is in environmental and sustainable approach to true Eco-tourism. Our guides are certified Marine Naturalist and the best on Maui. We pride ourselves on offering much more than just a fun day on the water. We want all of our guests to leave our tours knowing more about these beautiful islands, the host culture and the marine world we call our 'office'.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“SUP in Lahaina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Took a lesson in stand up paddling from Brandon this morning. He made it a very enjoyable trip and I had a great time learning the ropes and chatting with him as we paddled the calm early morning waters near Lahaina. He's a very knowledgeable and friendly guide. It all seemed fairly easy until he had me try his smaller board. Then I quickly realized I needed some more practice :)

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    4
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This was a great experience! so relaxing and chilled our guide Brandon was amazing and very insightful, told us all about the island and made the whole experience enjoyable and cool. We saw sea turtles, countless different types of fish, the coral was amazing with the water so clear and warm!
Just wanted to thank you for the awesome morning we had with you and for the photos. It was definitely a highlight of our trip. Brandon was great and made the whole experience fun and relaxing. Brandon thankyou also for all the great tips on what to do. We did them all and really appreciated being able to see the less tourist-y part of Maui. Venus pools and Sunday at Little Beach was amazing/crazy. You definitely made our entire trip better with your suggestions.

Thanks again guys, we will definitely be telling people to come to you guys when in Maui.

Much appreciated

Jamie and Tom

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Swim with the Green Turtles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We met Ari our guide at 7:45am and after a quick training we got in our outrigger canoe as our guide did hawaiian chants as we entered the ocean for safe travels and upon our return. This was a great canoeing experience as we are avid kayakers. Our boys, ages 12 and 10, loved this trip to the turtle cleaning station where we jumped out of the canoe and donned our snorkel gear to then swim with the turtles. There were so many turtles at this "cleaning station" where they love to hang out and you could swim right up to them although we never touched them. Great educational experience as well as loads of fun!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Perfect way to start the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We met with Curtis at 7:45am this morning for some semi private beginner's paddleboarding. He is attentive, helpful, and funny.

The paddleboard and paddle are of good condition, they kept it very well.

This was pretty fun. My wife and I enjoyed the guide, we saw several sea turtles, atleast 8+, got was close as you can without disturbing them. We also got a good lesson about the land and ocean.

The 2 hours just flew by fast. Condition was perfect! I would book with them again.

Dont worry about photo's. just concentrate on keeping yourself on the board. Curtis used a gopro hero3 to snap pictures of us, the reefs, fishes, and turtles. He got the photos to us within 2 hours and they look great!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“OK experience, a bit pricy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We chose this trip because previous perfect reviews on Tripadvisor. We went for the Coral Gardens Outrigger. It's my first time in a canoe so so canoeing itself was a unique experience to me. Overall it was a OK experience, but didn't live up to my exceptions given its high price tag. Seven of us on the boat, me & my wife and another family of 4, and the guide. The guide wasn't quite active. We paddling close to the sea shore, and then snorkeling for a while in the sea.

We paddling close to the sea shore, and then snorkeling for a while in the sea. Not very good visibility in the sea and I didn't see anything in the sea while we are in the canoe (I was expecting to see some of the coral structures or some fishes). In the water we saw several turtles but not a lot of other fishes. (Not comparable to the snorkeling trip we took a day before.)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaiian Paddle Sports also viewed

 

Been to Hawaiian Paddle Sports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawaiian Paddle Sports, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.