We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maui A-406 The Fish Condo ~ FANTASTIC!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Mahina Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Mahina Beach Resort
Save
You added Hale Mahina Beach Resort to your Saves list
3875 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
North Potomac, Maryland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Maui A-406 The Fish Condo ~ FANTASTIC!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We enjoyed our first stay (last November) at The Fish Condo so much that we could not wait for a return trip; and this one was even more enjoyable since our first morning began with a whale sighting/"show" (blows, breach, & flukes) from the lanai. This was a real treat as our stay was at the end of their season in Maui.

Situated between the Kaanapali and Kapalua resort areas, this extremely well-appointed and maintained condo is the perfect holiday getaway location. Anything that you might need or want (including beach-going paraphernalia) has been thought of and provided by its owners and Rose, their onsite housekeeper. The furnishings are charming and extremely comfortable, and the ceiling fans in each room provide excellent, additional air circulation and cooling. The lanai provides wonderful unobstructed views of the beach, ocean, and sunsets (of course).

Outside, not only does this modest-sized complex have an ocean-front pool and jacuzzi which are surrounded by a lush lawn and garden, it has access to a lovely, small, sandy, swimming beach which, when they come up to sun, the sea turtles do not mind sharing. There is also excellent snorkeling to be had as well.

What we particularly relish about The Fish Condo is that it provides a quiet, near-fully-self-contained Oasis away from the crowds, hubbub, and traffic of so many of the other options; yet it is within easy walking or cycling distance of shops, and within easy driving distance of other beaches, golf courses, restaurants, shops, sights, etc. Actually, with all of the comforts and amenities provided by The Fish Condo, itself, and the complex as a whole, you really never have to leave in order to have a truly FANTASTIC holiday! We are already looking forward to planning our next visit.

So, once again, many, many thanks to Linda, Rose, et al. Or rather, Mahalo!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    32
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
73
66
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Overall, we have enjoyed our stay at the Hale Mahina. I say "overall" because the first two weeks were quite pleasant. The second two weeks not so much due to spring break and the place being over run with screaming kids. Manager Larry must have had a change of heart from what I see from prior years' reviews because no one seemed to be trying to keep these kids in line. We heard screaming on and off all day starting at about 7 am and going for 12 hours. The condo we were in was great, the complex is great, but the screaming, often unruly children grew old.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

We (four adults) stayed at the Fish Condo for one week in the beginning of March. We found it to be very clean, well stocked, comfortable and beautifully decorated. It was so comfortable in and out that we prepared and ate most dinners at home on the deck. Our meals and the views rivalled anything we could have had at a restaurant! It was a plus to be on the 4th floor as it allowed us to see further along the beach from the deck. The view of the ocean and beach from the deck truly was amazing and we enjoyed watching the whales blowing and breeching. We even saw a huge sea turtle sunning herself on the beach! Although the weather wasn't the greatest while we were there, the deck was sheltered and we were always able to enjoy ourselves outside for our dinners and evening glass (or two!) of wine. The location was good - a quick drive to some great snorkelling and shops and restaurants. We would definitely stay there again and will certainly recommend the Fish Condo to anyone we know planning a trip to Maui!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

There is good and bad about Hale Mahina.  We spent two weeks there in January.  First the good.  The grounds, beach and pool area are lovely.  There are beautiful hibiscus flowers of many colors.  Larry, the resident manager, does an excellent job of keeping everything clean and neat.  There is a nice sand beach and an area with no rocks where you can get in the ocean.  It is not a long stretch and is confined by lava rocks on both sides so not enough for much of a walk.  There is a small pool but the deep end is 7 feet, too deep for small kids.  Also a very small hot tub.  Sea turtles sometimes come up on the beach for a long nap. Like many other condos on this stretch, you better not be a light sleeper or you better have some foam earplugs, because the street noise will cause you problems at night or early morning.

We stayed in unit B-101.   It is nicely furnished with 2 recliners and a couch.  It is tastefully decorated.  The interior of the unit is very livable.  Well supplied with dishes and pots.  It has a nice kitchen area with stainless steel appliances including a full-size refrigerator and granite counters..  All the usual small appliances including blender, toaster, microwave, etc.  There is a good sized TV with cable.  The bathroom is nicely tiled and there is granite in there as well.  The artwork on the walls is very nice.

There is one ridiculous aspect of the complex.  There are no gas grills.  There are 4 charcoal grills, only 2 that are usable.  This is so 1980.  First you have to buy the charcoal.  It takes a half hour for the coals to be ready to grill, This means that while your coals are heating, other folks are waiting around, or you are waiting for them.  Also, it takes a long time to cook your food, much longer than with gas.  And who wants to mess with dirty charcoal today?  This is the only complex we have been in, wherever we have been, without gas grills.  Spend a thousand bucks and buy some grills.  There are 42 units here.  It can’t cost much each to buy the grills and propane.

Unit B-101 has some serious downsides.  It has a dirty carpet.  You can’t keep a carpet clean when people are coming in from the beach, so tile the place.  There is no lanai.  There is a  concrete slab that extends 3 feet from the sliding glass door, Where the concrete ends there is  dirt, or mud when it rains.  More reason for dirty carpeting  There are 4 disgustingly old and weathered patio chairs.  If you choose to put a towel over these and sit on them, your feet are in the dirt, or mud.  Other ground floor units have lanais that are tiled and extend 8 feet out, with better patio furniture and you can get an ocean view.   In fact the unit next door, owned by the same person I heard, has a lanai with nice furniture.

The sidewalk that separates the two buildings of the complex comes right in front of B-101, so people often walk by, and look into the unit.

The ocean view is seriously obstructed by foliage and another building.  There is no ocean view from most areas inside the unit.  In fact, most ground floor units in this complex are obstructed by foliage.

This unit is not accessible for handicapped individuals as there are 2 steps from the bedroom to the kitchen.

The shower is partially enclosed by a glass panel.  There is no shower door.  This necessitates getting into the shower before turning it on, meaning you have to stand in cold water until it heats up. It is difficult to keep some of the water from going out on the floor.  It does have a nice shower head.

The unit is on the beach, but we had no beach towels.  We called the management company who referred us to  the office, but there is no office.  We called the cleaning company who rented us 2 beach towels for $2 each.  Why didn’t the owner go to Costco and buy a few beach towels?  Tenants should not be required to buy or rent their own beach towels.

It is hard to understand how an owner who has spent a lot of money on the interior of the unit has not spent the additional money needed to improve it.  

Final verdict:  Can I recommend Hale Mahina?  Yes, with reservations.   But, even with the nice and liveable interior, not Unit B101.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Winton Alberta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

We arrived at this condo to find thick dust, hair leaves etc under the bedroom furniture. Obviously only cleaned around the edges. There are now curtains at the windows not blinds as previously stated in a another recent review. The countertops were redone and a new stove and microwave. The refrigerator water and ice dispenser does not work. The dishwasher is gradually melting inside. There were two broken toasters and when we asked for one that worked she said basically it is what it is???? She then sent another email to say that a new one was on its way, which needless to say never arrived. The buiding manager Larry was kind enough to lend us one. The light on the lanai in a previously mentioned review is still not working because she won't replace it.
She repainted the walls in the condo herself and there is paint everywhere baseboards, floor, trim etc. We had to peel painters tape from all sorts of places.
The pot lights in the bathroom have no covers on them and are filthy. There is a slab of raw wood above the washer and dryer. No cleaning utensils save a very dirty broom and dustpan and brush. Vanity sink is rotting away and the tap is very hard to turn to change the water temperature. The kitchen cabinets are in a very poor state of repair. The chairs and the ceiling on the Lanai are growing mould. Finding space to hang clothes or store suitcases was a challenge at least. Every cupboard is full of her junk including numerous fold away beds, even one under the bed in the bedroom. One of the kitchen cabinets was crammed full of old paint cans. This unit is noisy due to its proximity to the pool and the hot tub and the bedroom backs on to the car park and the road..
On the upside the resort is small, well managed by Larry and the views are amazing. Whales and turtles galore. Not really suitable for children as there is nowhere for them to play. Basically this condo needs a full renovation.

Room Tip: Condos in the A block are the best, Ground floor units very dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Potomac, Maryland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

This lovely, west-facing, top-floor condo is a real GEM! Aside from the very comfortable beds and other furnishings (charming fish-theme throughout), the owners have gone "that extra mile" by providing very nearly all of the comforts and necessities of home for their guests; from kitchen to ocean, binoculars to first aid kits, they have thought of it all. And on top of that, there are the spectacular views from the lanai! Indeed, during our six days, each morning began on the lanai watching sea turtles and rainbows as well as the rose-pink reflections on the clouds from the sunrise behind us. Then, in the late afternoons, we found ourselves hurrying back to the lanai so as not to miss yet another spectacular sunset! A perfect venue!

In addition, the Hale Mahina complex has very well-kept grounds with an immaculate pool and jacuzzi, a pool cabana with an outdoor shower, chaise lounges and chairs, grills, picnic tables and benches, and a very swimmable beach.

Other pluses: Communication with Linda, one of the owners, was excellent. Also, the housekeeper is available should there be any problems. It is obvious that these owners are well-organized and eager to ensure that their guests have a wonderful stay at the "Fish Condo". And their efforts will not be in vain as we cannot wait to schedule a 2-week return trip!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

If you are looking for granite and travertine, move on. If you are looking for a million dollar location on a private beach, keep reading. From what we have seen, B206 is an incredible value. We stayed 8 days and wish we could have added more days. The unit is clean and comfortable. Kitchen is very well outfitted and yes, there was plenty of toilet paper, kleenex, paper towels and regular towels. We don't come to Maui to sit in a unit so we don't care that it is not the absolute fanciest place here. Furniture is comfortable and unit is very clean. We have not seen one single ant or bug of any sort. Owners were great to deal with and responsive to any of our questions. On site manager was super friendly.

View: You sit on your lanai and sip coffee in the morning and a cocktail at sunset. You hear the waves crashing 24/7. Walk 20 feet and you are at the pool or on the perfectly sandy beach. It simply does not get any better than this.

We loved the location because we could walk to a fantastic grocery store/farmers market and get morning coffee or smoothies. We also loved to walk down and connect to the 3 mile "beach walk" on Ka'anapali beach. 5 minute drive to Lahaina.

As far as the previous review my dad had an expression. "If you want to go to heaven, you got to die to get there". If this last reviewer wanted a 2 million dollar unit that looks like a photo out of a Maui magazine, then pay $500 a night. If you want a nice and comfortable condo on the beach, you have found the right choice.

Already looking to book 2016.

Mahala

Mark and Sue

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hale Mahina Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Mahina Beach Resort

Address: 3875 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Hale Mahina Beach Hotel Lahaina
Hale Mahina Beach Lahaina
Hale Mahina Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Mahina Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.